Know what's public and what's private
The major players in social media give an option for you to private message and do messages that are only seen by a limited group of people. On Twitter, a direct message is only between you and that person.
On Facebook, you can create a group and send only to those people. Google-Plus does the same.
If your status should be seen by everyone, then by all means send it out. But if your message really only appeals to one person, then just send it to him or her. The rest of us don't need to see you create your dinner plans that we're not invited to.