1. You have chosen to ignore posts from Thygraveerror. Show Thygraveerror's posts

Re: The 100 essential New England books

Well, the funniest book I've read in a long time by a local author was Don't Mind Me, a Tennessean Lost in Connecticut, by Terry Hargrove. He wrote a column for the shoreline papers here in Connecticut. What a funny guy! He now posts on Scholars and Rogues. (Now, how can I post this anonymously? Hmmm)

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from whydoihaftareregister. Show whydoihaftareregister's posts

The Orchard by Adele Crockett Robertson and Fig Pudding by Ralph Fletcher are excellent books.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from tartiepants. Show tartiepants's posts

As an elementary school teacher I was happy to see Eric Carle, Mike Mulligan and of course Make Way for Ducklings, but you certainly missed And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry St. 

Also, no Stephen King??? Really?

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from TeamDeC. Show TeamDeC's posts

What you missed: New England books are sold at New England bookstores which pay New England taxes and keep New England people employed. Sending shoppers to amazon.com alone is shortsighted (unless of course Amazon is buying the NYT share in your paper).

How about indiebound.org. Would be pretty simple for you to set them up as an affliate (http://www.indiebound.org/affiliate) and you'd be supporting the businesses who already support you.

5. You have chosen to ignore posts from fatvoodoo. Show fatvoodoo's posts

A must read is "A Tiger's Heart" which is written by a local (Boston) author, Aisling Shen.  A brutally honest description of her life growing up dirt poor and overcoming the odds against her.  She lays bare her most intimate thoughts in a way few authors are able to do.  An amazing story, wonderfully written.   http://www.amazon.com/Tigers-Heart-Story-Modern-Chinese/dp/1569475865/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1243523962&sr=1-1