Ian Curtis' legacy

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from yogafriend. Show yogafriend's posts

Ian Curtis' legacy

I couldn't resist starting a thread about Ian Curtis on the heels of the Nirvana / Kurt Cobain thread, for obvious reasons.  Curtis commited suicide at the age of 23, even younger than the cult-like "dead at 27" rock singers, many of whom (and you know the ones I mean) have had lasting popularity and visibility following their deaths. 

Is Ian Curtis not as widely known to the general rock listening audience, or did Joy Division have a more select (and perhaps UK?) following (I hesitate to call it a cult following -- but maybe you would).  They never toured in North America, as Curtis' suicide coincided with the departure for their NA tour.  I'm not making any assumptions here; I'd appreciate hearing from people in-the-know.  

I have limited knowledge of Joy Division, but thanks to this forum, I've discovered more about them and their music.  I prefer (and am into) New Order, and I consider the formation of that band a gift following Curtis' death.

Also, has Joy Division been experiencing a resurgence lately?  More interest from the average rock listener?  I've noticed it from younger listeners, along with the Smiths [but that seems to be a given :)  ].

Any comments are welcome.  Any fans out there?   Any thoughts?  

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from leafswin27. Show leafswin27's posts

Re: Ian Curtis' legacy