Mentorship / Musical memory for a classical musician

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from yogafriend. Show yogafriend's posts

Mentorship / Musical memory for a classical musician

In reading the e-newsletter that I receive from a classical music organization, I read a short biographical sketch of the "musician of the month", a violinist who is in the orchestra.   One section of the bio was his "Best Musical Memory" and I liked it so much, I thought some of you would like it, too.   

Check it out:  

"As a young student, I had the opportunity to work with the most remarkable musicians. Leonard Bernstein was my favorite conductor and teacher. He had a great enthusiasm and passion for his music which I believe he wanted to pass on to his students.

During one rehearsal, he lost track of the time focusing on his "Candide Overture". Knowing that we had prepared Beethoven's First Symphony as well, Mr. Bernstein continued the rehearsal - right through our lunchtime. Having the advantage of sitting principal second, I was in closest proximity to hear Mr. Bernstein's comments. His personal assistant was tactfully trying to remind him that he was needed for the BSO rehearsal which was to start in ten minutes.

An hour later, the assistant was adamant about departing for the next rehearsal. Mr Bernstein turned to him with a quick reply-  "If the BSO doesn't know the music by now - they should find another job."   I was greatly touched by his dedication to us and have been inspired to do the same."

Must have been very cool to be an ear-witness to that remark by Bernstein.   

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from polar123. Show polar123's posts

Re: Mentorship / Musical memory for a classical musician