Question regarding Heartworm Treatment

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts

Re: Question regarding Heartworm Treatment

I'm no expert, truly, but I know heartworm is serious.  More treatment is expensive, but you've already sunk a fair amount into buying a puppy just 8 months ago.  Is it worth it to not do it from a financial perspective?  Looking at the puppy as an investment, you're risking losing it all if you don't get the full course of treatment against a killer disease.  I'm not sure why they said if the bloodwork looked good that would be all he needs, but they must have some reason they are recommending continuing (one would hope they are not being financially driven!). 

Find out from your vet (call them and ask) what changed between the time they told you if the bloodwork was good you'd be done and what they are recommending now and go from there.

GL!!!

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts

Our vet recommends heartworm meds all year, and she's not a money grubbing doc - she has been honest about other things I've asked about as being unnecessary.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from AngellVets. Show AngellVets's posts

Answer by Dr. Mara Ratnofsky of Angell Animal Medical Center's General Medicine Service:
    Your concern is warranted, as navigating heartworm treatment can be confusing at times. A single injection is never recommended, and while veterinarians still occasionally recommend a two dose treatment, it is generally not considered an appropriate solution. A three dose treatment is widely recommended by veterinarians for all cases of heartworm.