What is your opinion on ear-cropping for Dobermans?

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts

Re: What is your opinion on ear-cropping for Dobermans?

Our lab is prone to ear infections because of her floppy ears, but we keep it in check with a tea tree oil dog ear cleaner from Only Natural Pet Store online.  It works great preventing ear infections if we use it once a week.  If you're worried about ear infections, they can be prevented with ANY breed if we can with our lab.

I personally wouldn't put her through any surgery which is painful, expensive, and comes with risk of infection or even death that wasn't necessary no matter what the breed is "supposed" to look like.  I figure it was born the way it was supposed to look.

I have no personal experience with Dobermans, but I wouldn't put mine through that.  I had a hard enough time with our dog getting spayed.  There is always risk of a terrible reaction to the anesthesia, infection, etc.

P.S.  I totally underestimated how much I could love a dog until we brought her home.  I wonder if you'll still be considering this after you fall in love with your little guy.

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from juliechrissis. Show juliechrissis's posts

I have had a couple Dobermans.  I am also now good friends with the breeder we got our last puppy from.  I have seen puppies shortly after ear cropping.  It does not seem to bother them much. 

The breeder told me that because Dobermans are such an active breed the floppy ears can get caught and torn easily.  This is in addition to the ear infections they can get. 

I am an animal lover too and would never want my puppy to suffer needlessly.  If it were my puppy I would have the ear cropping done ASAP.  It is easier on them when they are younger and the ear taping process is soooooooo much easier when they are small.

Enjoy your puppy!  They are such a great, sweet breed.