Cake tester - toothpick?

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts

Cake tester - toothpick?

Will a toothpick suffice for a thin, metal "official" cake tester?  I don't have a cake tester....  I do have thicker, metal skewers.  Would that mimic a cake tester better?

HELP!  I'm a cook, not a baker, and DH's birthday is tomorrow.  You guessed it, homemade cake time.

TIA!  I'm heading to the kitchen right now...will check back when cake is ready to be tested.

~kar

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from toytrumpet. Show toytrumpet's posts

Re: Cake tester - toothpick?

In Response to Cake tester - toothpick?:
    Will a toothpick suffice for a thin, metal "official" cake tester?  I don't have a cake tester....  I do have thicker, metal skewers.  Would that mimic a cake tester better? HELP!  I'm a cook, not a baker, and DH's birthday is tomorrow.  You guessed it, homemade cake time. TIA!  I'm heading to the kitchen right now...will check back when cake is ready to be tested. ~kar
    Posted by kargiver

Toothpick, bounce, or when cake starts to pull away from sides - all measures of when a cake is done, Kargiver.  Never can go by just the time the recipe calls for, since all ovens run a little differently.  That time is just a guide.  I start to test mine 10 minutes before.  Good luck.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from pingo. Show pingo's posts

Kar,
    Listen to tt - she is our official Chat baker.
    I always use a toothpick - works well. If it comes out clean - the cake is done - sometimes overdone. So take tt's advice, start testing before it is supposed to be done.
    Oh, looking at the time you posted, the cake must be all done. Hopefully the result was great. What did you make? Amazing, how many March children we have here.

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts

Thanks, friends!