Blue Jays, are they mean?

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from Peonie. Show Peonie's posts

Blue Jays, are they mean?

I don't know where to ask this...there is no category for animals.

My boyfriend and I have a large bird feeder outside on our balcony. It attracts a lot of birds, such as swallows, robins, cardinals, morning doves, and lately blue jays. There is one blue jay who is very submissive and comes by usually in the morning (I am a teacher, so I have the summers off, so I home during the summers). The blue jay who comes in the morning, just sort of comes by, waits his turn and then eats when there is room. In the afternoon there are two or three blue jays that come by and literally raid the feeder. They basically kick out any birds that are there. Between the morning and the afternoon all the birds are fine together, swallows and morning doves get a long perfectly fine and don't bother each other, and when an occasional cardinal comes by, they all seem to get a long. But when these darn blue jays come by it's like all h*ll breaks loose!

They fly in there so fast and pretty much knock any bird that is on the feeder off. I know I shouldn't be concerned but this happens EVERYDAY at the same time! I find it odd that in the morning there is that one blue jay who is fine and actually patient and sweet. Is there anything I can do? Probably not...it's nature. I just hate to see the other birds get bullied.

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts

Re: Blue Jays, are they mean?

Yes, bluejays are mean.  They ransack other birds' nests and take them over.  They kill the babies or damage the eggs in the process, and when the robin parents come home they've been evicted (they tend to prefer robins' nests).  And, they are very aggressive in general.  But, we get them at our feeder and don't do anything about it.  The stuff they like is also what the pretty cardinals and gross beaks enjoy so what can ya do.