Event Liability Insurance

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from smithie02. Show smithie02's posts

Did any of you have to invest in special event liability insurance? Not wedding insurance, but liability insurance up to $1M or $2M for the day so that your location could be added as an additional insured?

If so, any recommendations for a decent broker/price? Thank you!

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from cosmogirl. Show cosmogirl's posts

no, absolutely not. No venue should require you to get liability insurance.

Why are they saying you need it?

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from smithie02. Show smithie02's posts

I agree. I am an attorney and think this is ridiculous, but its written into their venue contract that they want to be added as an "additional insured" on a liability policy. They clearly have their own, but the owner of the venue (its a private motel) is paranoid about there being an injury on property.

Basically we aren't going to wiggle out of this provision, so I'm looking for if anyone did this for a private resident they may not have owned, a cottage wedding, that type of thing.

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from laryan. Show laryan's posts

i've heard of a special rider for the day if a reception is held at a home (backyard)...mostly in the event there is a drunk-drive sort of thing..but never heard of having to take out a special insurance policy by a venue to add to what a venue may already have..that seem rediculous..

when I was looking @ venues for my wedding i did have a few instances of venues not wanting to rent to people who are having under 21 year old guests because they were paranoid of potential under age drinking and liquor liability...

have you considered another venue?

5. You have chosen to ignore posts from smithie02. Show smithie02's posts

Thanks for the wedsafe tip.