Cutting back expenses

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from donaldaucoin. Show donaldaucoin's posts

Cutting back expenses

As the recession tightens its grip, I've been hearing about people cutting back on household expenditures: ending their house-cleaning service,�going out to dinner less frequently,�bringing lunch to work rather than buying lunch at the company cafeteria,�eliminating their driveway-plowing service, and so on. �Has anyone out there taken similar steps to save money because of the faltering economy and uncertainty about the security of your job, or just to be on the safe side?�

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from massfan. Show massfan's posts

Cutting back expenses

I've always been looking for ways to cut expenses... Not just due to the economy.1)� My husband and I bring our lunch to work every day.� That probably saves us $50+ a week.2) I clip coupons.� I have a subscription to the Sunday Globe.� On average, I save $10 a week�with coupons.� There have been some weeks where I've saved as much as $30!� I clip coupons for things I already use.3) We are not coffee drinkers, but I'd think skipping the daily Dunkin Donuts run would save a person at least $10 a week.�

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from columbine. Show columbine's posts

Cutting back expenses

Buy CDs used online.

Check Freecyle and Craigslist for stuff you actually need.

When possible, trade (including services, e.g. tutoring for babysitting)

Consolidate all your debts into one low-interest loan, and then only use your credit card as much as you can pay off each month.

Cook in quantity, and freeze in portions.

Read the ingredients in your over-the-counter medicines, and buy the chemically identical "Compare To" brand next to it on the shelf.

Turn down the heat - wear a hat and neck scarf.