I Have Herpes and I Need Advice

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from blueeyez816. Show blueeyez816's posts

I Have Herpes and I Need Advice

Im a 19 year old female who contracted herpes from my boyfriend. He claimed he didn't know he had it. I love him and I forgave him, but now the relationship is going down hill. I've been talking to a guy i've known for a few years and we're really into each other. I want to leave my boyfriend and see where it goes with the other guy. The only thing stopping me is having to tell him I have herpes and what he would think about it. Someone please give me some advice.

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from ALF72. Show ALF72's posts

Re: I Have Herpes and I Need Advice

Talk to you doctors. They will tell you how to handle the physical aspects of the disease, and can refer you to someone who can help you deal w/ the emotional aspects - ie, having to deal w/ your bf and how to tell future partners about the disease. Good luck. 

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts

I second ALF's great advice.  Talk to a health professional and get medical and emotional support.  She's right; you will probably be referred to someone who can help you through this.  You aren't the first and won't be the last person in this situation, and health professionals are very skilled with what to do to help you.

If your relationship is failing and you want to break up with your boyfriend, do so before you start seeing anyone else.

Tell the new person your medical situation if you plan to be sexually active.  It's the only responsible thing to do, but I suspect you know that.

P.S.  I'd go back and talk with the doctor/healthcare professional that diagnosed me if I were you.

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from CT-DC. Show CT-DC's posts

In Response to I Have Herpes and I Need Advice: