bridal shower...again

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from kinga9. Show kinga9's posts

bridal shower...again

Maybe this new question will eliminate some tension in the other discussions.

To make a long story short, I was engaged 6 years ago. Thankfully, before any legal documents were signed, we called it off with 2 months to go. Unfortunately we did have our bridal shower, but we made sure that every gift was returned to it's rightful owner after calling it quits.

Fast forward to today. Engaged, happier then ever, found the perfect soulmate..yadadada. BUT I feel strongly against having another shower. My fiance and I (is there a shorter way to say finace on here? I'm new to the lingo...) live together and have a pretty good to start to our home goods so I don't feel that we need to register for every typical newly engaged gift (please no more comments about registries ;-) which would traditionally warrent both a shower and a wedding. Most of all, I think I would feel slightly embarassed by the fact that I would be having ANOTHER shower and I feel somewhat rude because the family from my side would be invited again. My fiance wants me to do whatever I feel is right, but rightfully so reminds me that my past should not interfere with my present.

So...do I, or don't I?

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from trex509. Show trex509's posts

Re: bridal shower...again

We abbreviate fiance with FI and once you are married DH (for dear husband I think!).  Hope that helps!  :)