OT - Hiring - Legal Question

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from Txgrl82. Show Txgrl82's posts

OT - Hiring - Legal Question

So, I know there are quite a few lawyers on these boards, and I am hoping you can answer a question for me!

I have a friend who was hired for a position. She went on two interviews and was then offered the job over the phone. They even discussed salary. Now, she gets a call that the manager made a mistake and she needs to go on another interview with HR because there is a person in corporate that is also going for the same position.

Is this legal? Can a company offer you a job and then take it away? It just doesn't sound right...

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts

Re: OT - Hiring - Legal Question

I'm not a lawyer, but, yes, I think this is legal albeit icky.

I say this because companies hire employees at will.  They can terminate at will, and employees can leave at will.  If that's the case, they can certainly make an offer and then rescind it or change it.

But, again, I'm no lawyer...  ALF, you out there?

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from Txgrl82. Show Txgrl82's posts

Right, but isn't it essentially a contract, since there was an offer and an acceptance? That's the confusing part to me...I mean, they could still give her the job and then fire her, but not just give it and then take it back, you know?

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from ilovebeagles. Show ilovebeagles's posts

If its not in writing, it doesnt count.

Sorry, but that is the harsh truth.

While I like your legal terminology Taxgrl, offer and acceptance MUST be in writing per contract law, or else is it just a verbal agreement, which aint worth the paper its not written on!

5. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts

I think they can.  And, she didn't sign anything to boot.  Wish I could be cheerier. 

Where are the lawyers?  I shouldn't have commented at all not really knowing for sure.