So I *Think* My FI Can Dance

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from Rirlo01. Show Rirlo01's posts

So I *Think* My FI Can Dance

With a few lessons. 

Any recs for lessons?  We prefer metrowest.  I'm already looking into the Arthur Murray studio in Natick, because the location is so convenient, and they do one free lesson.  Has anyone been there? 

All tips and suggestions are welcome, too.  I have a lot of dance experience, but my FI has none.  I'm toying with the idea of choreographing our first dance, teaching him that and calling it good, as the rest of our dancing will likely be nothing fancy.  (We'll be playing your typical top 40 and classic rock and dancing like we always have at parties.)  But I wonder if taking on the role of teacher for this is a good idea.  We're a good little team and happily learn from each other all the time, but I feel like this is a job for a pro.  Maybe we can just take a couple lessons, and then I can take it from there. 

Any ideas?  Even if you have no advice, did you take or consider taking lessons? 

Thanks!

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from NYEBride2010. Show NYEBride2010's posts

Re: So I *Think* My FI Can Dance

We just started lessons in our area and they are kind of a sticking point for us.  The school we are going to has a package for beginners which includes 5 private lessons, 5 group lessons and 3 group/practice sessions.  This was all for almost $500 dollars.  While we are enjoying the private lessons, the group lessons are large, and not equally populated gender wise.  We went in expecting to be able to dance together and we rotate partners the entire time.  I know this is a normal practice most places but where we are going with the wedding in mind, we can't learn each others movements during those classes.  We are trying to deal with it and were going to extend it more but now we are just thinking of stopping after this session is over.