Unique North Shore venues, 225+

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from Wedin2010. Show Wedin2010's posts

Unique North Shore venues, 225+

Hi,

I'm new to wedding planning and these boards, and am hoping that someone can help me. I'm about to begin visiting venues on the North Shore and in Boston, and I am having a bit of a dilemma. I have a large family, and my wedding will be 225+. I'd like to get married on the North Shore for convenience and price, but am finding that a lot of the places that can hold that many people are function halls, which are not my style. My mom is very much against the idea of relying on a tent, and I tend to agree with her. I prefer something a little unique, so I'm looking in Boston at places like the Omni Parker House or the Seaport...but the prices are staggering. I'd really rather find something on the North Shore, as it will be more convenient for guests and less expensive.

My priorities are great food and a really cool setting, whether that means a view or a historical or funky place. The Hawthorne Hotel, for example, was on my list until I found out that it would be too small to hold all of us. My fiance does not want to get married in a museum, so the PEM is out at the moment.

If anyone can think of any memorable North Shore or nearby venues that they've been to with fantastic food and a nice view or historical feel to them, I would love to hear about them. Thank you!

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from 91909Bride. Show 91909Bride's posts

Re: Unique North Shore venues, 225+

Hi Wedin2010 -

My fiance and I are getting married at Tewksbury Country Club in September and we picked it because we literally couldn't find anything else like it in the Boston area!  I wasn't crazy about it being directly on Route 38, but it is set a little off the main road, and it is a golf course in the back, so no one is ever in the front!