Boston Latin vs. Independent Schools

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from hotmama. Show hotmama's posts

My child has been accepted at Boston Latin School for Grade 7 as well as several other top Independent schools in the Boston area. We are struggling with making the decision on where to go as multiple schools are a good fit. How do others make this decision, putting cost aside? We don't want to make the wrong choice.

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from msts-1. Show msts-1's posts

I agree with you. I am a graduate of The Latin School and it has cachet in more than Boston. Even high school students in suburban "good schools" recognize its exceptional nature. To your point, why would you send your kids to a private school for more money when kids and their parents try to move to Boston so their kids can go to Latin gratis (See I did go there!). If one lives in Boston, Boston Latin is the prize for staying.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from lccprez. Show lccprez's posts

I went to Roxbury Latin in the 1960's and got an outstanding education in a very small class enviroment (the graduating class size was 26). Most of my friends went either to Boston Latin or B.C. High and got outstanding educations - with BLS being essentially free!!!

I think you'd be hard pressed to get a better education (at the top end of the class) than you can get at BLS. My daughter went to Nobles, got a fine education for which we paid about 30K a year. If BLS had been an option, I would have been very happy to have her go there. Our other daughter went to Brookline High and got an excellent education as well, for free (other than the high Brookline taxes).

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from pingo. Show pingo's posts

In my opinion BLS is truly a hype. There many good free schools in and around Boston.
    BLS I am sure is a fine school, but it has also been made so by the media. I would not want my child to go to a school that is always in the news - but that's just me.