Boston Latin vs. Independent Schools

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from davita1111. Show davita1111's posts

Do347 - thanks so much for this! I am also a graduate of BLA and agree with you completely that BLA does not get the credit it deserves. The academics were rigorous; both the teachers and the student body reflected the diversity of the school's various neighborhoods. I cannot say that the buildings were always so great - I personally was always a fan of the huge, rickety Codman Square location. Something about that creaky old building with those huge, dark wooden stairwells that just felt right somehow.

Anyway, thanks for the memories!

"Forsan et haec olim meminisse iuvabit"

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from hotmama. Show hotmama's posts

All -

Thanks for the feedback. It was helpful to get opinions from folks that aren't emotionally invested in the decision making process here. Our decision - Boston Latin School. It was tough to turn down the prestigious girls' school and some others, but we are comfortable with the decision and aren't looking back.

Thanks again everyone!

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from aynnie. Show aynnie's posts

That is the most important thing - don't second guess your decision - it nearly always turns out to be the right one.

Good luck, I am sure your daughter will thrive and do well.

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from jmacd1. Show jmacd1's posts

We learned it as "Gallia est omnia divisa in tres partria." In Girls Latin before we had to mix it up with the boys. Going to GLS (only 4 years beginning in the 9th gr) was the toughest thing I have ever experienced academically. Everything else was made easier by the study habits I acquired at Latin. Yes, we did have heavy loads and lots of homework, but it prepared me to LEARN and I continue to be grateful for my foundation at GLS. And I can do a mean crossword!

5. You have chosen to ignore posts from thing26. Show thing26's posts