Rising costs at Newton's school

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from BostonDotCom. Show BostonDotCom's posts

The tensions emerging from the rising costs of building the state's most expensive school ever in Newton were reported in today's Boston Globe.

What do you think of the proposed school? Is a showplace school that reflects well on a community worth the price?

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from timmah. Show timmah's posts

what a joke. I graduated from this school 20 years ago. They should have just updated what they had. This school was big enough to educate the students, just needed some improvements. Fancy schools don't necessarily equal a better education. Will the city have $ left for books and other supplies :) How about paying for teachers? :) I am so glad I moved away from this crazy city. Residents will be paying for this FOREVER, and even if the mayor is telling them the override isn' t for the school, perhaps if there were a hundred million dollars floating around in the city budget they wouldn't need an override to pay for other city services. And, for those of you unfamiliar with Newton, North is one of two public highschools in the city-South will probably need a 165M+ update soon, too.

As for the restaurant???? They could have walked to Newtonville like we did at hit any of the little places down there. Looks like kids will need more lunch money.

If only we all had so much money to burn during a RECESSION!!

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from gimmeedaball. Show gimmeedaball's posts

Hold up people, there are a lot of problems with this projects but the restaurant is not one of them. NNHS still has a successful Tech Voc program, of which culinary arts is a part of. The restaurant is a learning environment for many kids who don't fit the traditional student profile. I also went to NNHS 20 years ago and still live in the same district. Believe me, we're having a hard time choking this one down...