Tipping: 18% on pre-tax, or final bill amount (including taxes)?

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from lrecliner. Show lrecliner's posts

Re: Tipping: 18% on pre-tax, or final bill amount (including taxes)?

I usually tip pretty well- 20-25%. I worked in the industry and know what it can be like. Most customers are great, its the one or two bad ones you run into on every shift that make it tough.

What I do find annoying is that little tip cup they have at coffee shops and delis. I rarely if ever put any change in those. I just don't see that as tip-worthy

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from WhatItIsNow. Show WhatItIsNow's posts

In Response to Re: Tipping: 18% on pre-tax, or final bill amount (including taxes)?:
    In Response to Re: Tipping: 18% on pre-tax, or final bill amount (including taxes)? : I tended bar thru college in the 80's.  Put me at the coldest bar in the joint, and I'd make more tips than the hot bar (and had no problem with pooling). The secret?  Get those sitting at your bar to call you by name.  Your tip will go up 20%, and when they come back, they'll ask for you, say they can do it again. 
    Posted by GreginMeffa

I waited tables, and interestingly the opposite was true. I found the whole "my name is X and I will be your waiter"-thing bothered a lot of people. Instead I introduced myself to regulars when it felt right, but ignored any restaurant policy about introducing yourself as a matter of routine. I think you are on to something. When people know you by name, and you know them by name, they are bound to tip you more.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from WhatItIsNow. Show WhatItIsNow's posts

In Response to Re: Tipping: 18% on pre-tax, or final bill amount (including taxes)?: