Honest Mom, Monday introduction

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from BDCKristi. Show BDCKristi's posts

Honest Mom, Monday introduction

Our Featured Parent Blogger this week is JD at Honest Mom. Welcome! Thanks for being with us this week!

Please introduce yourself and tell us about your blog.

Readers, feel free to stop by to say "hi" to JD. We'll be chatting with her all week long in these forums so please come back. 

And to find out more about this series or to nominate a blogger (or yourself!) go here.

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from JD Honest Mom. Show JD Honest Mom's posts

Re: Honest Mom, Monday introduction

Happy Monday everyone! (I can say that without sarcasm since I’m on cup #2 of coffee. Coffee = happiness for me.) Thanks so much to Kristi and Boston.com for this opportunity - I’m psyched to be here.

My name is JD Bailey, and I am a freelance writer and the creator of the blog Honest Mom.

On the blog I write about the funny and the tough parts of raising little girls, and also about my journey in managing my depression, which began with PPD for me. I started Honest Mom to connect with other moms and create a space for women to both vent and laugh, and it’s turned into a great community.

I am a co-author of the book, I Just Want to Pee Alonea collection of hilarious essays on motherhood. My work has also been featured in publications such as baystateparent magazine, the Huffington Post, and Scary Mommy.

I am proud to be an outspoken advocate for moms who deal with depression. I was interviewed by Katie Couric on her show about the topic in March and was featured in a March 2013 Parenting Magazine article about parents and depression.