Christmas Charity Suggestions?

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from v1ct0r1a. Show v1ct0r1a's posts

Christmas Charity Suggestions?

Hi everyone
    I'm quite new to the city (Cambridge) from Canada and my family and I are trying to find a good Christmas Charity this year. We don't give gifts to anyone other than our daughter as our families are quite fortunate and what can we give our parents/siblings/each other that they can't just buy themselves? We'd rather give to those in need who fear the onslaught of the Christmas season because of pressure to buy buy buy when they can hardly pay the bills.
    I'd love to find a charity that sponsors families or children. In the past I've recieved 'lists' for families detailing what the children might like for Christmas and if they could use food/clothing. I would love to do this again. I can't imagine ever feeling like I might not be able to feed or clothe my daughter in these cold months, or put a present under the tree for her.
    I'm open to suggestions if anyone knows of a good and reputable charity for families/children. If not, the Sally Ann and/or food banks are always a go to.
    Thanks for the time!

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from lemonmelon. Show lemonmelon's posts

Re: Christmas Charity Suggestions?

We give to the Home for Little Wanderers. You can buy toys from Santa, or you can buy wish lists for families. It's really heartbreaking to read some of the wish lists -- we filled one last Christmas for an eight-year-old boy who asked only for things like toothpaste for his parents and diapers for his baby brother. One of our best friends works for the organization and helped distribute the gifts, and he said that the families were so touched that people cared about them -- it meant more than the gifts even.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from Trigirl627. Show Trigirl627's posts

Ditto on the Home for Little Wanderers.

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from v1ct0r1a. Show v1ct0r1a's posts