Family Vacation

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from ajuly09. Show ajuly09's posts

Family Vacation

Are you surprised I'm not posting to ask a question about sleeping or eating? :)    DH and I were supposed to go away this week for a beach trip to our family's house in SC. Plans fell through b/c of a sick family member and we'd really like to try to plan something for this summer.  We were looking forward to it b/c SIL, BIL and her 2 young kids would be there to help.  We know that we prob. won't go away again till next year's trip if we don't plan something now since I'm a teacher.  Also it's not like it's easy to go to a hotel room with a 10 week old.  
      So my question is do you have any suggestions for places to rent a small house near the water?  I guess it doesn't have to be the ocean, it could be a nice lake.  We don't have a ton of money to spend, so something on the cheaper side, I don't even know how much a house would cost for a week.  We'd like to stay in the area, either NH/Maine/Cape..  any areas you'd suggest?  I know the Cape can be a mad house in the summer and I'm sure it's super expensive.  Any help is appreciated! 

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from tomarra. Show tomarra's posts

Re: Family Vacation

My family (2 to 3 families) rent a house at York Beach in Maine every summer.  I have attached a link so that you can get an idea how much they go for.  Good luck.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from lissafro. Show lissafro's posts

We're camping in Truro this summer.  Camping with a 10 week old probably isn't ideal.  This will be our first time camping since baby.  You'll probably have luck finding something since the economy is leading people to rent out rooms/places to make money and fewer people are going away.  Have fun!  Good luck!

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from beniceboston. Show beniceboston's posts

I asked about a beach house search earlier this year and someone recommended www.vrbo.com