Financial Planner

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts

Re: Financial Planner

I have a "stay away" suggestion - do NOT get involved with Ameriprise Financial.  I am so embarrassed I did and was so relieved when I finally got my $500 back.

After that terrible experience, I didn't try to find another.  It was like going to a used car salesman for financial advice.  Icky.

My advice is to try to find someone private, not part of a big financial "chain."

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from kiwigal. Show kiwigal's posts

I have two different suggestions for you:

--My DH and I work with Abigail Lechthaler at Baystate Financial Services. My school (I am a teacher) offered consultations with a financial planner as a benefit a few years ago. Abby has been especially helpful working with my DH helping him to set up retirement plans as a self-employed person.

--I also highly recommend listening and calling into "The Money Show" which airs on Sundays from 9am-12pm on 96.9fm. They have lots of good advice on investments and will do personalized "makeovers" if you call in. They always say that it's not worth spending the $ on a financial planner (either fee-only or commission-based) unless you have $500,000+ in investments. (We probably wouldn't have a planner if the service wasn't offered for free through my work.) The show also has a website that you can check out: http://bestmoneyinfo.com/

Good luck and congratulations on baby #2!

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts

The Money Show is AWESOME!

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from SilverFestiva. Show SilverFestiva's posts

kar, how did you get your money back from Ameriprise? We made the same mistake - but I think its too late to ask for a refund. we just made sure not to renew. biggest waste of money, ever!

5. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts