Save for College or Take Family Vacations

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from kargiver. Show kargiver's posts

Re: Save for College or Take Family Vacations

RT, your husband was wise to insist on saving for retirement; protect that with all your might.

Saving for college is almost impossible these days.  An undergrad education can easily cost $50,000 per year.  And, if you have saved too much and make too much income, you won't qualify for financial aid.  So, if you've saved $100,000 earmarked for one's college tuition and make $100,000 between you (for instance), I'm betting you'd be sunk in the financial aid department, and you'd still be scr_wed because you'd only have 1/2 of what you need for one kid given they're going to a pretty expensive school.

But, if you have nothing earmarked for college and there's only 4 years to go, I'd say UMASS is her/their best option and a very good one at that.  I wish I'd gone there (I have a math degree from BU) and if I could do it over again, I'd have done that instead of graduating with $25,000 in debt even after getting a decent scholarship.  If your daughters go to a state school, qualify for financial aid, and take a course load that allows them to work part time during the year and full time for the summers, you can probably manage better than if you go whole hog trying to save now.

My advice is to go that route for their college, keep your retirement funds in place no matter what, and go on reasonably priced (not trips to Fiji) vacations. 

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from ALF72. Show ALF72's posts