Father Knows But Not The Best

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from nanaguardian. Show nanaguardian's posts

Father Knows But Not The Best

When a father asks a two year old daughter on the phone where her mother is and expects to get the kind of answer he's looking for he might be using egocentric thinking just as she is. Which of the two of them has the option of using critical thinking instead?

I am a student at South University, and the above  question was asked of me, since we are in Psychology overview discussions regarding child development. 

I am reminded that at such early ages, the idea that the child develops a brain as he or she grows is something that we've all accepted.  What I think is news is the sensitivity of
    developing brain structure to the ongoing and ambient environment, both human environment, interpersonal environment and physical environment.

We didn't understand years ago that in order to grow a brain, a baby requires a human climate that is safe and warm, interactive, supportive and very responsive, based on what the baby needs each minute of each day. As well, the physical environment, in terms of safety, cleanliness, freedom from toxins and chemicals is another aspect of brain development.  So what we are saying is
    all of these environmental influences, not only the physical influences but also what you might call emotional influences having to do with the family and the community in which the infant is embedded, those can actually affect the development of the brain?

My response is that the father is overthinking this scenario with a two-year-old.  We do need to really think about what we say to our children, before we say it.  We also need to realize that this is a two year old.  What advice can I give this lad, from your perspective???

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from whatawagSBNy. Show whatawagSBNy's posts

Re: Father Knows But Not The Best