Foreclosure troubles

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from Scorpio75. Show Scorpio75's posts

Re: Foreclosure troubles

I would check with a new lawyer.  At our annual meeting we were told by the board and mgmt company that in MA the association can file a lien to recover the association dues regardless of the foreclosure process. They also stated that the association dues were payable prior to other bills like mortgage etc.  There was no lawyer present and I am not a lawyer so you should find a new one and check it out.   I really think that your original lawyer did you an extreme disservice.

As someone in an association I hope that you do have to pay all that money back because your irresponsibility is costing the rest of the owners a lot of money.  Your dues were expected and spent as part of maintenance, landscaping, taxes, lighting, snow removal etc.  It is quite possible that the association may have to take out a loan and charge a special assessment to cover the losses and pass that around to the rest of the owners.  So now the rest of the owners get soaked in taxes thanks to the federal and state governments and then soaked by you for not paying your dues.

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from lrecliner. Show lrecliner's posts

My guess is your lawyer gave you some really bad advice which is probably why you are not getting your calls returned. Either that or you didn't quite grasp the entirety of what he/she was saying. Its hard for me to imagine a lawyer (or anyone for that matter) simply telling you to not pay the fee without expecting any consequences.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from bosteacher. Show bosteacher's posts

Please confirm with a lawyer what I am about to say:  If the condo lien is senior to the mortgage, when the auction took place this lien would have been paid off first and no collection efforts would be made now.