Frustrated with realtor

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from nanat. Show nanat's posts

Frustrated with realtor

We've had our house on the market now for over 2 years with not much action.    Our realtor doesn't feel that open houses sell houses so it takes a lot of proding on our part to get them to do one.   What is the general consensus regarding open houses - do they sell or not??  How often should a realtor have an open house?  What are some strategies that seem to work?   Is it time to find a different realtor?   

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from ShannonLavin. Show ShannonLavin's posts

Re: Frustrated with realtor

Hi Nanat,
    I am a realtor with William Raveis and each agent has their own opinion on open houses, in my opinion I believe they are beneficial. While you may attract alot of "curious" neighbors you should get alteast a few serious buyers through there. For my clients I prepare a mareting calendar so they can see when and where there house will be marketed at all times and this includes open houses. This is done prior to the listing of the home and will be continued one month in advance throughout the life of the listing. You mentioned your house has been on the market for two years, have you asked you're realtor what the average days on market is for your town and your price point? It may not be an open house issue but perhaps condition of the home, it's marketing, or price (or a combination of these things). I'd recommend scheduling an appointment with your realtor to find out why the house isn't selling. Are you atleast getting showings, what has the feedback been? Perhaps discuss what else is being done to market you home to the correct target audience and the most qualified buyers.

~Shannon

In Response to Frustrated with realtor: