NHL is still investigating the contract of Savard, Hossa, Pronger and Luongo

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from BruWingFan. Show BruWingFan's posts

Re: NHL is still investigating the contract of Savard, Hossa, Pronger and Luongo

I'm not a lawyer, but I have to believe the NHL would be wide open for lawsuits over any decision to rescind the other contracts. The teams made other decisions based on the NHL accepting and registering those contracts. To go back and say they're no longer valid would be severely detrimental to those teams. IMO the league needs to honor the contracts. They had their chance to deny the contracts and did not do so.

I don't see how they could possibly do anything with Hossa because he's already played a season under the contract.

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from SanDogBrewin. Show SanDogBrewin's posts

Re: NHL is still investigating the contract of Savard, Hossa, Pronger and Luongo

I would think any deal that got rejected months after it was submitted that wasn't rejected at the time it was initially submitted would indeed get challenged in court by the player and or the team. For instance if Marc were declared a free agent by the league Chiarelli could scream "I couldv'e traded Savard and gotten some type of compensation for him while under contract."

I don't see how the league could wait this long to declare the contract rejected after they didn't reject it for a hearing in the first place.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from RMiller87. Show RMiller87's posts

Many of these front loaded contracts were clearly exploiting loopholes in the League's salary cap provisions.

New Jersey seems to have tried to drive a Mack truck through with the offer to Kovalchuk, and this party looks to be over.

This might get interesting. 

Wonder why Lecavalier's 11 year, $85 million contract hasn't been included since it is also heavily front loaded in the manner of Savard's, Hossa's, Pronger's and Luongo's.