Dale Hunter not returning

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from kelvana33. Show kelvana33's posts

Dale Hunter not returning

I know some will be glad because of his defensive style and i know he owns a team but still, kind of suprised.

http://espn.go.com/nhl/story/_/id/7928759/washington-capitals-coach-dale-hunter-return-2012-13

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from 49-North. Show 49-North's posts

Re: Dale Hunter not returning

Surprising, yes -- but also a move that makes me respect the guy a bit more. 

For many hockey coaches, working in the NHL is the 'dream job', but for some, it's enough to do what you love, thinking about what's best for your family.

Perhaps I'm reading more into this than I should, but the article doesn't give you too much to go on.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from islamorada. Show islamorada's posts

As a player Hunter was wired.  He was a decent player who went over the edge. It is speculation, but under the quiet demeanor as a coach, I wonder if things were just eating him alive.  His defensive style was as someone said on here, appropriate for the Caps if they were to win a series.  I won't miss the "rope a dope" hockey though.  

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from Olsonic. Show Olsonic's posts

what the hell? This makes no sense. something must be happening behind the scenes.

5. You have chosen to ignore posts from red75. Show red75's posts

Not surprised at all - he owns and coaches the most financially successful team in Juniors, he's got his family there working with him, he's got his farm. I think he knows what's most important to him, and that doesn't include coaching in the NHL.

6. This post has been removed.

7. You have chosen to ignore posts from SoxFanInIL. Show SoxFanInIL's posts

He made it pretty clear his family connections in London were what's important. He said he's going home.  Good for him.