Re: No Surprise - Canucks Crying Over Lucic
posted at 11/20/2011 1:41 PM EST
In Response to Re: No Surprise - Canucks Crying Over Lucic
In Response to Re: No Surprise - Canucks Crying Over Lucic : You posted the rule and I read it and know the rule. The rule specifically mentions it's the refs discretion. I get it. In their mind, they were trying to squash a tension filled rink due to the hit, with a "charging" call. Charging is when you come from a distance and run someone without the puck. That's charging. This was a bang/bang play with a goalie racing out his net, his momentum moving forward at a 180 degree angle from a 6'4 N/S skakter trying to beat him to the puck. It's an aberration example in the game of hockey. It's not like this happens in every game every night. It's why goalies don't do what Miller did. Just curious, how old are you? You apparently have this idea that goalies can't be touched at all. The last two people in the NHL I expect to be agile and stop on a dime in that situation, would be a goalie and a guy who, quite frankly, isn't a good skater (Lucic). Face it, a power forward like that plays one way because he has to. I saw Lucic actually let up a bit at the end, but he didn't make an effort to stop or sort of dance to the side to jump out of the way. That's not really a penalty. He did follow through on the hit, but it was too late to pretend like he could have done anything else.
Posted by RidingWithTheKing
Goalies cannot be touched unless they initiate the contact or it is deemed incidental contact. Thats the rule, I'm 36 played net for 30 years been to many a goalie camps and help run one. The more i look at this the more I favor Lucic could have avoided him. Look at the video, Miller wins the race to the puck and actually plays it. He is at the dot of the face off circle. At this time Milan is at the top of the circle, feet not moving and clearly bracing to hit him. Miller actually has tiime to get upright to prepare for the hit. Clearly, Miller has played the puck and is prevented from returning to his crease and Lucic had time and space to avoid him but chose to make contact. It's clear as day in the video I've provided and in the rule I've provided. Ref deemed it was not incidental and issued a minor penalty. The right call. He could have called goaltender interference, but he chose charging. Why I have no idea, but the fact that Lucic got a minor was the right call. refs discretion. Sometimes they call an elbow a roughing and vise versa. But Lucic did come from a distance, and Miller did not have the puck at the time, perhaps thats why he did it. Rule does not state what minor should be called just syas the approprate penalty should be. Ref thought this was appropriate. Either way, the rule is clear, Miller was prevented from retunring to his crease by a player who could have avoided contact.
Be sure, that if this was Tim Thomas views and opinions in this forum would be much different, however the rule does not change. That is a fact. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TERA-GY2K1o
69.4 Contact outside the goal crease.
A goalkeeper is not “fair game” just because he is outside the goal crease. The appropriate penalty should be assessed in every case where an attacking player makes unnecessary contact with the goalkeeper. However, incidental contact will be permitted when the goalkeeper is in the act of playing the puck outside his goal crease provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such unnecessary contact.
When a goalkeeper has played the puck outside of his crease and is then prevented from returning to his crease area due to the deliberate actions of an attacking player, such player may be penalized for goalkeeper interference. Similarly, the goalkeeper may be penalized, if by his actions outside of his crease he deliberately interferes with an attacking player who is attempting to play the puck or an opponent