Re: Why the referee did not call the crosscheck in the back from Weaver on Lucic and earlier on Brad Marchand
posted at 2/25/2013 1:08 PM EST
In response to Fletcher1's comment:
In response to NeelyOrrBourque's comment:
Yes & he picked his spot with a 2 goal lead & plays for the best penalty killing team in the league going against one of the worse PP's in the league. I'd say that's a perfect spot to be in to react to a cheapshot.
Now we're getting a little carried away. 'Picked his spot'?? You can easily defend this as a reactionary thing, which is what everyone above has been doing.
But let's not pretend it was a strategic decision. I can live with it, as a snap reaction to being cheapshoted and sticking up for himself.
But if Lucic calculated that the 2nd period of a close game was a good time to give the other team 2 powerplays, take himself off the ice for 14 minutes, and not actually leave scratch on Weaver, then that was a pretty dumb strategy.
Like I said, everyone can forgive him for losing his head for a minute and coming back at Weaver. But it certainly wasn't more than that, and he wasn't carrying out some cunning strategy. He's an angry beast out there, which is why we like him even if more restraint is sometimes needed.
Relax Fletch...Lucic is a beast when he gets worked up. We can agree on the 10 min being stupid on Lucic's part & disagree on his 4 min. I was being facetious & no way, shape, or form think that Lucic had any kind of strategy in his head. He would've reacted in the same manner no matter who it was against any team the exact same way. And I'm glad he does.