Ideas to Expand/Improve BC Sports

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from chitown chicity. Show chitown chicity's posts

Ideas to Expand/Improve BC Sports

Hey everyone,

I'm a student at BC and I'm writing a paper about steps the admin and AD could take to make BC sports (specifically football) more prevalent on the East Coast. Coming from Chicago, I've noticed that not many people around here care for BC sports, which is strange for me (Chicagoland area is firm ND/Illinois territory). 

I understand New England is a region completely dominated by pro sports, but I think that there can be a niche for college sports in there. BC is the only major college athletic program in the Boston area (not including Connecticut here, for the record), so I think it's possible for the program to attract the casual NE fans if the admin/AD make the right moves.

What do you guys think would help this happen? Besides the program performing well and racking up wins; that's a given. It would probably be difficult to attract people with strong ties to BU, NU, etc because they already dislike BC because of hockey. But I think its definitely possible to get the casual NE fans to support the Eagles. Especially small families who want to go to sporting events- the pro teams's tickets are quickly becoming too expensive, and BC could become a cheaper alternative. Sidenote: that could eventually attract a large fanbase because those kids would grow up with the Eagles, and be loyal.

What are your ideas? I actually plan on submitting this paper to the athletic department itself, and do everything I can to promote the ideas in it. I love and care about this school deeply, and I'd do anything to fix the condition it's in now.

This thread isn't meant to promote any sort of "BC elitism" that I hear about sometimes. I hate elitists myself.