"God Bless" or "Religion in Sports" or Taboo Tebow Talk

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from MonsterFan. Show MonsterFan's posts

"God Bless" or "Religion in Sports" or Taboo Tebow Talk

After Tebow's "victory over the Steelers" press conference yesterday he addressed  everyone by saying "God Bless" and exited the podium.  What is it about this particular religion where people like Tebow assume everyone is of the same belief system?  I am Agnostic which simply means I do not claim to know or understand whether or not God (or other gods and deities) exists. I have never seen a deity and have never met anyone who has either. I feel that if I was a professional athlete and addressed the media with an Agnostic type of salutation at the end of a press conference I would be talked about as a someone who should be institutionalized.  Yet, in our society, its taboo for me to talk this way.  Here in this discussion group, under the protection of anonymity, I am able to voice my opinion but if I was to talk this way at the "water cooler", I'd be harangued by my fellow employees.  I guess what I'm trying to say is "Why am I the crazy one?" and...."What is inherent in Tim Tebow's religion that makes him have to share it with the rest of the world?".  If you enjoy a particular religion.....MAZEL TOV!  Just enjoy it! Why is there a need to spread it around?  Let's try not to bash religion here....I just want to know why Tim feels the need to spread the gospel.  I already can tell you there may be alot of posters who are going to complain that I'm bashing religion....I'm not!  I know of many positive effects that it has psychologically.  Heck, Tebow is a great example of someone who succeeds because he believes he cannot fail with "The Lord" by his side.  Let's try to have a discussion.

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from PatsEng. Show PatsEng's posts

Re: "God Bless" or "Religion in Sports" or Taboo Tebow Talk