Another Call Goes Indy's Way

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from simroy. Show simroy's posts

Another Call Goes Indy's Way

Did anyone else check out the last punt return from Indy's game.  Ed Reed trying to lateral, doesn't execute, Indy recovers a fumble as called on the field.  After reviewing, it's apparent his lateral was actually a forward pass - but the fumble ruling stands.  Indy escapes (actually they did deserve to win - Ravens utterly failed all day in the red zone).  A question to those who saw it (I'm far from an expert on the rules) - why was that not called an illegal forward pass - with Baltimore retaining possession?

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from pauldeba. Show pauldeba's posts

Re: Another Call Goes Indy's Way

it was a fumble, his arm wasn't coming forward even if the ball was slightly.  i tried every way imaginable to convince myself of the same but couldn't

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from simroy. Show simroy's posts

In Response to Re: Another Call Goes Indy's Way:
    [QUOTE]it was a fumble, his arm wasn't coming forward even if the ball was slightly.  i tried every way imaginable to convince myself of the same but couldn't
    Posted by pauldeba[/QUOTE]

I agree the ball was out, of course whether I agree or not is immaterial - but didn't the ball go forward?  Sure looked like it.

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from MaritimePatsFan. Show MaritimePatsFan's posts

The ball definitely went forward. I still think it was a fumble. Reed was running forward got hit and tried to lateral. During the lateral motion he got hit again and the ball's direction changed from a lateral to forward. Don't really know what the refs said to one another or if this is what they saw, but thats how I saw it.

5. You have chosen to ignore posts from pauldeba. Show pauldeba's posts

"but didn't the ball go forward? 

if his arm isn't going foward and the ball is, it is a fumble, not a legal lateral, not an illegal lateral