Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

  1. You have chosen to ignore posts from CatfishHunter. Show CatfishHunter's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    rtuinila had the best example.   You could run the entire length of the field (before the goal line) with your feet in bounds, holding the ball over the end line.  You'd still be in bounds and the play is not dead.

     
  2. You have chosen to ignore posts from coolade2. Show coolade2's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to CatfishHunter's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    So why on a Touchdown do you need to hit the PYLON...????????  (with the ball)

    [/QUOTE]


    So you can get forward progress by flying out of bounds 5 yards as long as you don't touch the ground .  Why don't you see more players leaping ( and avoiding contact) out of bounds....../???????????????

    [/QUOTE]


    This is true.   You seal the edge and use an Olympic long jumper to jump out of bounds an extra 8 yards or so.

    [/QUOTE]


    lol....

     
  3. You have chosen to ignore posts from coolade2. Show coolade2's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to CatfishHunter's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    rtuinila had the best example.   You could run the entire length of the field (before the goal line) with your feet in bounds, holding the ball over the end line.  You'd still be in bounds and the play is not dead.

    [/QUOTE]


    fine .... since he didnt go out of bounds .  But when you do go OB, the ball comes back to wher it crossed the sideline plane.

     
  4. You have chosen to ignore posts from coolade2. Show coolade2's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to coolade2's comment:

    In response to CatfishHunter's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    rtuinila had the best example.   You could run the entire length of the field (before the goal line) with your feet in bounds, holding the ball over the end line.  You'd still be in bounds and the play is not dead.




    fine .... since he didnt go out of bounds .  But when you do go OB, the ball comes back to wher it crossed the sideline plane.

    [/QUOTE]


    so in your kooky example ...  if he stepped out at the 1 yard line it would come back (99 yards) and be a touchback.

     
  5. You have chosen to ignore posts from ghostofjri37. Show ghostofjri37's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to CatfishHunter's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    rtuinila had the best example.   You could run the entire length of the field (before the goal line) with your feet in bounds, holding the ball over the end line.  You'd still be in bounds and the play is not dead.

    [/QUOTE]


    fine .... since he didnt go out of bounds .  But when you do go OB, the ball comes back to wher it crossed the sideline plane.

    [/QUOTE]

    I think it does if the play is at the goal line and the ball is not inside the pylon or over/touching the pylon.

     
  6. You have chosen to ignore posts from coolade2. Show coolade2's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    The other example of the highlight reel catch doesn't work either...  since the receiver doesn't have possession until he catches it (still inbounds) ... but when they mark the ball it is at the feet, not where the ball and receiver land out of bounds.

     
  7. You have chosen to ignore posts from anonymis. Show anonymis's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

     http://www.boston.com/sports/blogs/goingdeep/2013/11/patriots_panthers_read_option.html

     

     

    The article is about QB running but scroll down to the video of Geno Smith running for a first down against the Patriots...  He is like a yard or 2 short then as he is falling down he extends ball forwrd out of bounds...  How does this get him a first down....?

    [/QUOTE]

    from that camera angle, not sure if you can tell whether the ball is truly out of bounds or not. You'd really need two camera angles - viewed simultaneously - one directly over that sideline - and one perpendicular to the sideline.

     
  8. You have chosen to ignore posts from MeadowlandMike. Show MeadowlandMike's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

     http://www.boston.com/sports/blogs/goingdeep/2013/11/patriots_panthers_read_option.html

     

     

    The article is about QB running but scroll down to the video of Geno Smith running for a first down against the Patriots...  He is like a yard or 2 short then as he is falling down he extends ball forwrd out of bounds...  How does this get him a first down....?

    [/QUOTE]


    Pretty simple.  The ball was past the down marker before anything touched out of bounds.  It's just that easy.  It seems that Belichick agreed.  Otherwise he would have challenged it.  I do love to see Pats fans crying about refs, though.  I can't believe nobody here is crying about the non call of the pushing on the FG attempt vs the Saints or the non call on the obvious PI against Tony G when the Falcons were about to score their 21st point in a 3 minute timespan.

     
  9. You have chosen to ignore posts from MeadowlandMike. Show MeadowlandMike's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    So why on a Touchdown do you need to hit the PYLON...????????  (with the ball)

    [/QUOTE]


    So you can get forward progress by flying out of bounds 5 yards as long as you don't touch the ground .  Why don't you see more players leaping ( and avoiding contact) out of bounds....../???????????????

    [/QUOTE]

    They lack the skill Geno has.  It's just that simple.

     
  10. You have chosen to ignore posts from coolade2. Show coolade2's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to MeadowlandMike's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

     http://www.boston.com/sports/blogs/goingdeep/2013/11/patriots_panthers_read_option.html

     

     

    The article is about QB running but scroll down to the video of Geno Smith running for a first down against the Patriots...  He is like a yard or 2 short then as he is falling down he extends ball forwrd out of bounds...  How does this get him a first down....?

    [/QUOTE]


    Pretty simple.  The ball was past the down marker before anything touched out of bounds.  It's just that easy.  It seems that Belichick agreed.  Otherwise he would have challenged it.  I do love to see Pats fans crying about refs, though.  I can't believe nobody here is crying about the non call of the pushing on the FG attempt vs the Saints or the non call on the obvious PI against Tony G when the Falcons were about to score their 21st point in a 3 minute timespan.

    [/QUOTE]


    YOu're  quite wrong ... and most certainly an idiot ...

     
  11. You have chosen to ignore posts from MeadowlandMike. Show MeadowlandMike's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to MeadowlandMike's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

     http://www.boston.com/sports/blogs/goingdeep/2013/11/patriots_panthers_read_option.html

     

     

    The article is about QB running but scroll down to the video of Geno Smith running for a first down against the Patriots...  He is like a yard or 2 short then as he is falling down he extends ball forwrd out of bounds...  How does this get him a first down....?

    [/QUOTE]


    Pretty simple.  The ball was past the down marker before anything touched out of bounds.  It's just that easy.  It seems that Belichick agreed.  Otherwise he would have challenged it.  I do love to see Pats fans crying about refs, though.  I can't believe nobody here is crying about the non call of the pushing on the FG attempt vs the Saints or the non call on the obvious PI against Tony G when the Falcons were about to score their 21st point in a 3 minute timespan.

    [/QUOTE]


    YOu're  quite wrong ... and most certainly an idiot ...

    [/QUOTE]

    So then, you think Belichick thought it was not a first down but didn't challenge it?  Who is the idiot?

     
  12. You have chosen to ignore posts from coolade2. Show coolade2's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to MeadowlandMike's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to MeadowlandMike's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

     http://www.boston.com/sports/blogs/goingdeep/2013/11/patriots_panthers_read_option.html

     

     

    The article is about QB running but scroll down to the video of Geno Smith running for a first down against the Patriots...  He is like a yard or 2 short then as he is falling down he extends ball forwrd out of bounds...  How does this get him a first down....?

    [/QUOTE]


    Pretty simple.  The ball was past the down marker before anything touched out of bounds.  It's just that easy.  It seems that Belichick agreed.  Otherwise he would have challenged it.  I do love to see Pats fans crying about refs, though.  I can't believe nobody here is crying about the non call of the pushing on the FG attempt vs the Saints or the non call on the obvious PI against Tony G when the Falcons were about to score their 21st point in a 3 minute timespan.

    [/QUOTE]


    YOu're  quite wrong ... and most certainly an idiot ...

    [/QUOTE]

    So then, you think Belichick thought it was not a first down but didn't challenge it?  Who is the idiot?

    [/QUOTE]


    You don't challenge every blown call because you don't have the advantage of the perfect angle on a play like that.  Plus it was in New York.  Ref will defer to on -field (home town) call on a forward progress ruling most of the time. 

    But this play might have been overturned.  Its obvious the ball crosses the sideline plane short of the 10 yard line.

     
  13. You have chosen to ignore posts from RallyC. Show RallyC's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    Bumped.

     
  14. You have chosen to ignore posts from coolade2. Show coolade2's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    Amazing how so many people don't know this rule and make up their own interpretations...lol.

     
  15. You have chosen to ignore posts from MeadowlandMike. Show MeadowlandMike's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to MeadowlandMike's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to MeadowlandMike's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

     http://www.boston.com/sports/blogs/goingdeep/2013/11/patriots_panthers_read_option.html

     

     

    The article is about QB running but scroll down to the video of Geno Smith running for a first down against the Patriots...  He is like a yard or 2 short then as he is falling down he extends ball forwrd out of bounds...  How does this get him a first down....?

    [/QUOTE]


    Pretty simple.  The ball was past the down marker before anything touched out of bounds.  It's just that easy.  It seems that Belichick agreed.  Otherwise he would have challenged it.  I do love to see Pats fans crying about refs, though.  I can't believe nobody here is crying about the non call of the pushing on the FG attempt vs the Saints or the non call on the obvious PI against Tony G when the Falcons were about to score their 21st point in a 3 minute timespan.

    [/QUOTE]


    YOu're  quite wrong ... and most certainly an idiot ...

    [/QUOTE]

    So then, you think Belichick thought it was not a first down but didn't challenge it?  Who is the idiot?

    [/QUOTE]


    You don't challenge every blown call because you don't have the advantage of the perfect angle on a play like that.  Plus it was in New York.  Ref will defer to on -field (home town) call on a forward progress ruling most of the time. 

    But this play might have been overturned.  Its obvious the ball crosses the sideline plane short of the 10 yard line.

    [/QUOTE]

    So this call was not challenge worthy?  you know, at 3rd and 14 at the 24 to a 1st and 10 at the 10?  The master of the challange didn't think that was worth it?  

     
  16. You have chosen to ignore posts from RallyC. Show RallyC's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to coolade2's comment:

    Amazing how so many people don't know this rule and make up their own interpretations...lol.

     

    The spot on a sideline out of bounds play is established by the position of the ball when the player or part of the ball (while in possession of the player) make contact with any part of the sidelines and ground beyond the sidelines. So, as long as the player's body has not made any physical contact with the sidelines or ground as he goes out of bounds, the player can extend the ball further up field and the spot should be placed where the ball crosses the sidelines before contact is made with the ground. However, if the player touches the ground on the sideline or out of bounds BEFORE the ball crosses the sidelines as it exits the field of play, then the ball should be placed where the players body made sideline/out of bounds contact.

     

    As for the PYLON (with the ball):  The player does not have to touch the pylon. All the ball has to do is break the imaginary plane that extends up from the goaline before out of bounds is established by contact with the ground. The players do prove actual plane penetration when they hit the pylon with the ball as it serves as a physical segment of the imaginary plane and if the ball touches it before a player is established as down by contact or out of bounds, it leaves no room for discussion and is obviously a TD. If they pass the ball over the pylon without obvious touching, it is still a TD but there will be an official review to determine that the ball did break the plane.

     
  17. You have chosen to ignore posts from coolade2. Show coolade2's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to RallyC's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    So why on a Touchdown do you need to hit the PYLON...????????  (with the ball)

    [/QUOTE]

    The spot on a sideline out of bounds play is established by the position of the ball when the player or part of the ball (while in possession of the player) make contact with any part of the sidelines and ground beyond the sidelines. So, as long as the player's body has not made any contact with the sidelines or ground as he goes out of bounds, the player can extend the ball further up field and the spot should be placed where the ball crosses the sidelines before contact is made with the ground. However, if the player touches the ground on the sideline or out of bounds BEFORE the ball crosses the sidelines as it exits the filed of play then the ball is placed where the players body made sideline/out of bounds contact.

    As for the PYLON (with the ball):  The player does not have to touch the pylon. All the bal has to do is break the imaginary plane that extends up from the goaline before out of bounds is established by contagct with the ground. The players do prove such this penetration when they hit the pylon with the ball as it serve a physical segment of the imaginary plane and if the bal touches it, it leaves no room for discussion and is obviously a TD. If they pass the ball over the pylon, it is still a TD by there will be a review to determine that the ball did break the plane.

    [/QUOTE]

    Is this a quote from the rulebook...?  seems clear...finally!

     
  18. You have chosen to ignore posts from MeadowlandMike. Show MeadowlandMike's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to Harvey-Wallbanger's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to RallyC's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    Amazing how so many people don't know this rule and make up their own interpretations...lol.

    [/QUOTE]

     

    The spot on a sideline out of bounds play is established by the position of the ball when the player or part of the ball (while in possession of the player) make contact with any part of the sidelines and ground beyond the sidelines. So, as long as the player's body has not made any physical contact with the sidelines or ground as he goes out of bounds, the player can extend the ball further up field and the spot should be placed where the ball crosses the sidelines before contact is made with the ground. However, if the player touches the ground on the sideline or out of bounds BEFORE the ball crosses the sidelines as it exits the filed of play, then the ball should be placed where the players body made sideline/out of bounds contact.

     

    As for the PYLON (with the ball):  The player does not have to touch the pylon. All the ball has to do is break the imaginary plane that extends up from the goaline before out of bounds is established by contact with the ground. The players do prove actual plane penetration when they hit the pylon with the ball as it serves as a physical segment of the imaginary plane and if the ball touches it before a player is established as down by contact or out of bounds, it leaves no room for discussion and is obviously a TD. If they pass the ball over the pylon without obvious touching, it is still a TD but there will be an official review to determine that the ball did break the plane.

    [/QUOTE]

    And that is why, RallyC, Geno Bust was short. At some point before he's reaching for the marker, his knee of elbow has touched short of the marker.

    [/QUOTE]

    Is this the imaginary Harvey film that is not shown in that clip?  

     
  19. You have chosen to ignore posts from MeadowlandMike. Show MeadowlandMike's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to RallyC's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    So why on a Touchdown do you need to hit the PYLON...????????  (with the ball)

    [/QUOTE]

    The spot on a sideline out of bounds play is established by the position of the ball when the player or part of the ball (while in possession of the player) make contact with any part of the sidelines and ground beyond the sidelines. So, as long as the player's body has not made any contact with the sidelines or ground as he goes out of bounds, the player can extend the ball further up field and the spot should be placed where the ball crosses the sidelines before contact is made with the ground. However, if the player touches the ground on the sideline or out of bounds BEFORE the ball crosses the sidelines as it exits the filed of play then the ball is placed where the players body made sideline/out of bounds contact.

    As for the PYLON (with the ball):  The player does not have to touch the pylon. All the bal has to do is break the imaginary plane that extends up from the goaline before out of bounds is established by contagct with the ground. The players do prove such this penetration when they hit the pylon with the ball as it serve a physical segment of the imaginary plane and if the bal touches it, it leaves no room for discussion and is obviously a TD. If they pass the ball over the pylon, it is still a TD by there will be a review to determine that the ball did break the plane.

    [/QUOTE]

    Is this a quote from the rulebook...?  seems clear...finally!

    [/QUOTE]

    Sort of.  This was the rule from before the 2013 season.  As you know, the rule book was changed mid season.  

     
  20. You have chosen to ignore posts from coolade2. Show coolade2's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to MeadowlandMike's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to MeadowlandMike's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to MeadowlandMike's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

     http://www.boston.com/sports/blogs/goingdeep/2013/11/patriots_panthers_read_option.html

     

     

    The article is about QB running but scroll down to the video of Geno Smith running for a first down against the Patriots...  He is like a yard or 2 short then as he is falling down he extends ball forwrd out of bounds...  How does this get him a first down....?

    [/QUOTE]


    Pretty simple.  The ball was past the down marker before anything touched out of bounds.  It's just that easy.  It seems that Belichick agreed.  Otherwise he would have challenged it.  I do love to see Pats fans crying about refs, though.  I can't believe nobody here is crying about the non call of the pushing on the FG attempt vs the Saints or the non call on the obvious PI against Tony G when the Falcons were about to score their 21st point in a 3 minute timespan.

    [/QUOTE]


    YOu're  quite wrong ... and most certainly an idiot ...

    [/QUOTE]

    So then, you think Belichick thought it was not a first down but didn't challenge it?  Who is the idiot?

    [/QUOTE]


    You don't challenge every blown call because you don't have the advantage of the perfect angle on a play like that.  Plus it was in New York.  Ref will defer to on -field (home town) call on a forward progress ruling most of the time. 

    But this play might have been overturned.  Its obvious the ball crosses the sideline plane short of the 10 yard line.

    [/QUOTE]

    So this call was not challenge worthy?  you know, at 3rd and 14 at the 24 to a 1st and 10 at the 10?  The master of the challange didn't think that was worth it?  

    [/QUOTE]


    Incorrect again...  man you are dumb today.  Belichick challenges less than the average and the reason is it was a 50/ 50 at best projected result as stated above.  Geno was short since the ball crossed the sideline short of the first down. 

     
  21. You have chosen to ignore posts from RallyC. Show RallyC's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to coolade2's comment:

    In response to RallyC's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    So why on a Touchdown do you need to hit the PYLON...????????  (with the ball)



    The spot on a sideline out of bounds play is established by the position of the ball when the player or part of the ball (while in possession of the player) make contact with any part of the sidelines and ground beyond the sidelines. So, as long as the player's body has not made any contact with the sidelines or ground as he goes out of bounds, the player can extend the ball further up field and the spot should be placed where the ball crosses the sidelines before contact is made with the ground. However, if the player touches the ground on the sideline or out of bounds BEFORE the ball crosses the sidelines as it exits the filed of play then the ball is placed where the players body made sideline/out of bounds contact.

    As for the PYLON (with the ball):  The player does not have to touch the pylon. All the bal has to do is break the imaginary plane that extends up from the goaline before out of bounds is established by contagct with the ground. The players do prove such this penetration when they hit the pylon with the ball as it serve a physical segment of the imaginary plane and if the bal touches it, it leaves no room for discussion and is obviously a TD. If they pass the ball over the pylon, it is still a TD by there will be a review to determine that the ball did break the plane.

    [/QUOTE]

    Is this a quote from the rulebook...?  seems clear...finally!

    [/QUOTE]
    Cool, it is not a direct quote, but I have been intimately schooled on the intent and meaning of this and all the rules of professional football.

     
  22. You have chosen to ignore posts from RallyC. Show RallyC's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to Harvey-Wallbanger's comment:

     

    In response to RallyC's comment:

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    Amazing how so many people don't know this rule and make up their own interpretations...lol.

     

     

     

    The spot on a sideline out of bounds play is established by the position of the ball when the player or part of the ball (while in possession of the player) make contact with any part of the sidelines and ground beyond the sidelines. So, as long as the player's body has not made any physical contact with the sidelines or ground as he goes out of bounds, the player can extend the ball further up field and the spot should be placed where the ball crosses the sidelines before contact is made with the ground. However, if the player touches the ground on the sideline or out of bounds BEFORE the ball crosses the sidelines as it exits the filed of play, then the ball should be placed where the players body made sideline/out of bounds contact.

     

    As for the PYLON (with the ball):  The player does not have to touch the pylon. All the ball has to do is break the imaginary plane that extends up from the goaline before out of bounds is established by contact with the ground. The players do prove actual plane penetration when they hit the pylon with the ball as it serves as a physical segment of the imaginary plane and if the ball touches it before a player is established as down by contact or out of bounds, it leaves no room for discussion and is obviously a TD. If they pass the ball over the pylon without obvious touching, it is still a TD but there will be an official review to determine that the ball did break the plane.



    And that is why, RallyC, Geno Bust was short. At some point before he's reaching for the marker, his knee of elbow has touched short of the marker.

    [/QUOTE]

    Yo Russ, I honestly cannot tell that Smith made contact with the ground prior to the ball exiting the field of play. But if his elbow or knee did so prior to the ball crossing the sideline, then you are correct. Otherwise, though you could be right, it does not apear to me by the small view provided here today that it would have been reversable if challenged. I too remember feeling the way you did about it at the time during the game, but the network simply brushed past it.....very odd.

     
  23. You have chosen to ignore posts from MeadowlandMike. Show MeadowlandMike's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to MeadowlandMike's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to MeadowlandMike's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to MeadowlandMike's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

     http://www.boston.com/sports/blogs/goingdeep/2013/11/patriots_panthers_read_option.html

     

     

    The article is about QB running but scroll down to the video of Geno Smith running for a first down against the Patriots...  He is like a yard or 2 short then as he is falling down he extends ball forwrd out of bounds...  How does this get him a first down....?

    [/QUOTE]


    Pretty simple.  The ball was past the down marker before anything touched out of bounds.  It's just that easy.  It seems that Belichick agreed.  Otherwise he would have challenged it.  I do love to see Pats fans crying about refs, though.  I can't believe nobody here is crying about the non call of the pushing on the FG attempt vs the Saints or the non call on the obvious PI against Tony G when the Falcons were about to score their 21st point in a 3 minute timespan.

    [/QUOTE]


    YOu're  quite wrong ... and most certainly an idiot ...

    [/QUOTE]

    So then, you think Belichick thought it was not a first down but didn't challenge it?  Who is the idiot?

    [/QUOTE]


    You don't challenge every blown call because you don't have the advantage of the perfect angle on a play like that.  Plus it was in New York.  Ref will defer to on -field (home town) call on a forward progress ruling most of the time. 

    But this play might have been overturned.  Its obvious the ball crosses the sideline plane short of the 10 yard line.

    [/QUOTE]

    So this call was not challenge worthy?  you know, at 3rd and 14 at the 24 to a 1st and 10 at the 10?  The master of the challange didn't think that was worth it?  

    [/QUOTE]


    Incorrect again...  man you are dumb today.  Belichick challenges less than the average and the reason is it was a 50/ 50 at best projected result as stated above.  Geno was short since the ball crossed the sideline short of the first down. 

    [/QUOTE]

    So, using the camera footage above, that you are claiming proves he was short, would not have been enough proof to have the call overturned?  

    What does Belichick's frequency of challenges vs what other coaches have to do with challenging a key play that changed 3 points to 7?  

     
  24. You have chosen to ignore posts from MeadowlandMike. Show MeadowlandMike's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to Harvey-Wallbanger's comment:

    In response to RallyC's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to Harvey-Wallbanger's comment:

    [QUOTE]

     

    In response to RallyC's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    Amazing how so many people don't know this rule and make up their own interpretations...lol.

     

     

     

    The spot on a sideline out of bounds play is established by the position of the ball when the player or part of the ball (while in possession of the player) make contact with any part of the sidelines and ground beyond the sidelines. So, as long as the player's body has not made any physical contact with the sidelines or ground as he goes out of bounds, the player can extend the ball further up field and the spot should be placed where the ball crosses the sidelines before contact is made with the ground. However, if the player touches the ground on the sideline or out of bounds BEFORE the ball crosses the sidelines as it exits the filed of play, then the ball should be placed where the players body made sideline/out of bounds contact.

     

    As for the PYLON (with the ball):  The player does not have to touch the pylon. All the ball has to do is break the imaginary plane that extends up from the goaline before out of bounds is established by contact with the ground. The players do prove actual plane penetration when they hit the pylon with the ball as it serves as a physical segment of the imaginary plane and if the ball touches it before a player is established as down by contact or out of bounds, it leaves no room for discussion and is obviously a TD. If they pass the ball over the pylon without obvious touching, it is still a TD but there will be an official review to determine that the ball did break the plane.

    [/QUOTE]

    And that is why, RallyC, Geno Bust was short. At some point before he's reaching for the marker, his knee of elbow has touched short of the marker.

    [/QUOTE]

    Yo Russ, I honestly cannot tell that Smith made contact with the ground prior to the ball exiting the field of play. But if his elbow or knee did so prior to the ball crossing the sideline, then you are correct. Otherwise, though you could be right, it does not apear to me by the small view provided here today that it would have been reversable if challenged. I too remember feeling the way you did about it at the time on during the game, but the network simply brushed past it.....very odd.

    [/QUOTE]

    The networks seem to try to defend the refs when a play is close. If it is not challenged, then they never both to show it and just act like it's the right call.

    A replay would have been nice, but I remember thinking if you're coming to the marker at an angle like that and lunging, it would be hard for your leg or elbow to not have contacted the chalk, especially the leg.  

    Right then and there, I knew the refs were going to be favoring the Jets to get back into it.   To not measure and the swift 1st down signal was creepy.

    [/QUOTE]

    This coming from the guy that after 30 replays showed the good FG by the Ravens last year, he still cried about it having missed.  I think you claimed it was too high to have been good.

     
  25. You have chosen to ignore posts from coolade2. Show coolade2's posts

    Re: Explain the ball f. progress ruling on this play

    In response to Harvey-Wallbanger's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to RallyC's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to Harvey-Wallbanger's comment:

    [QUOTE]

     

    In response to RallyC's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to coolade2's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    Amazing how so many people don't know this rule and make up their own interpretations...lol.

     

    [/QUOTE]

     

     

    The spot on a sideline out of bounds play is established by the position of the ball when the player or part of the ball (while in possession of the player) make contact with any part of the sidelines and ground beyond the sidelines. So, as long as the player's body has not made any physical contact with the sidelines or ground as he goes out of bounds, the player can extend the ball further up field and the spot should be placed where the ball crosses the sidelines before contact is made with the ground. However, if the player touches the ground on the sideline or out of bounds BEFORE the ball crosses the sidelines as it exits the filed of play, then the ball should be placed where the players body made sideline/out of bounds contact.

     

    As for the PYLON (with the ball):  The player does not have to touch the pylon. All the ball has to do is break the imaginary plane that extends up from the goaline before out of bounds is established by contact with the ground. The players do prove actual plane penetration when they hit the pylon with the ball as it serves as a physical segment of the imaginary plane and if the ball touches it before a player is established as down by contact or out of bounds, it leaves no room for discussion and is obviously a TD. If they pass the ball over the pylon without obvious touching, it is still a TD but there will be an official review to determine that the ball did break the plane.

    [/QUOTE]

    And that is why, RallyC, Geno Bust was short. At some point before he's reaching for the marker, his knee of elbow has touched short of the marker.

    [/QUOTE]

    Yo Russ, I honestly cannot tell that Smith made contact with the ground prior to the ball exiting the field of play. But if his elbow or knee did so prior to the ball crossing the sideline, then you are correct. Otherwise, though you could be right, it does not apear to me by the small view provided here today that it would have been reversable if challenged. I too remember feeling the way you did about it at the time on during the game, but the network simply brushed past it.....very odd.

    [/QUOTE]

    The networks seem to try to defend the refs when a play is close. If it is not challenged, then they never both to show it and just act like it's the right call.

    A replay would have been nice, but I remember thinking if you're coming to the marker at an angle like that and lunging, it would be hard for your leg or elbow to not have contacted the chalk, especially the leg.  

    Right then and there, I knew the refs were going to be favoring the Jets to get back into it.   To not measure and the swift 1st down signal was creepy.

    [/QUOTE]


    Exactly ...  A replay would have been nice...  along with an explanation of the ball spotting RULE...!   This was a miracle call under the circumstances  and you can see the desperate lunge by Smith.

    It looked woafully short to the naked eye... hence the reason for the thread... and come to find out only about 3-4 members of the board know the rule... WE're on page 3 of the debate and still people are getting it wrong...lol

     

     

Share