Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

  1. You have chosen to ignore posts from CHAMPSXLVIII. Show CHAMPSXLVIII's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    still a dumbazz rule

     
  2. You have chosen to ignore posts from BabeParilli. Show BabeParilli's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to Not-A-Shot's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to BabeParilli's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    Uh, you're wrong. Only second tier players are restricted from that. Our guy was side by side with the guy he supposedly pushed.

    Really dood, don't take this foolish stance on this. You will be humiliated.

    [/QUOTE]

    Mike Pereira @MikePereira 41m

    That is correct call in NE/NYJ game. New rule this year can't push a teammate into the offensive formation on a field goal or try attempt.

    Mike Pereira Verified account

     

    @MikePereira

    Former Vice President of Officiating in the National Football League.

    ---

    Anything else from you on this?

    [/QUOTE]

    Yeah, a few things.

    It wasn't a push. The flag was thrown before the alleged push. You don't make cheesey calls in OT with the game on the line anyway, unless something is rotten in Denmark.

     
  3. You have chosen to ignore posts from CHAMPSXLVIII. Show CHAMPSXLVIII's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to BabeParilli's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to Not-A-Shot's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to BabeParilli's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    Uh, you're wrong. Only second tier players are restricted from that. Our guy was side by side with the guy he supposedly pushed.

    Really dood, don't take this foolish stance on this. You will be humiliated.

    [/QUOTE]

    Mike Pereira @MikePereira 41m

    That is correct call in NE/NYJ game. New rule this year can't push a teammate into the offensive formation on a field goal or try attempt.

    Mike Pereira Verified account

     

    @MikePereira

    Former Vice President of Officiating in the National Football League.

    ---

    Anything else from you on this?

    [/QUOTE]

    Yeah, a few things.

    It wasn't a push. The flag was thrown before the alleged push. You don't make cheesey calls in OT with the game on the line anyway, unless something is rotten in Denmark.

    [/QUOTE]


    well the player says he did push- i didnt see it either

     
  4. You have chosen to ignore posts from isurfvb24. Show isurfvb24's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to Not-A-Shot's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    I'm reading the rule. 

    "Rule 913: Team B players cannot push teammates on the line of scrimmage into offensive formation."

    Can someone tell me where the "second tier" stuff comes in?

     

    [/QUOTE]

    http://www.theblaze.com/stories/2013/03/21/what-new-nfl-safety-rules-passed-and-whats-still-on-hold/

     
  5. You have chosen to ignore posts from BabeParilli. Show BabeParilli's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to Sobchack's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to BabeParilli's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to Sobchack's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    Did the Pats get a raw deal on #12's pick 6?  

    Did the Pats get a raw deal on throwing when they should have run it in OT?  

    Did the Pats get a raw deal when #12 couldn't hit the Empire State from 3 feet away?

    Did the PAts get a raw deal on the continued insistence from McD to go for "style" plays?

    Did the Pats get a raw deal when the Jets where flagged all game and couldn't capitalize?

    Did th Pats get a raw deal because they only put up 6 points in the 2nd half?

    Did the PAts get raw deal when the D actually held its ground in the 4th to keep them in the game?

    The point is: the call was stupid, but the game wasn't supposed to go to OT.  BAD teams blow 21-10 halftime leads.

    [/QUOTE]


    Do us all a a favor, and shaddap.

    [/QUOTE]

    You're right.  My bad.  It was the ref.  Cost us the whole game.  Brady was amazing again. And he saved the team, but the ref robbed them.  Wake up.

    [/QUOTE]


    No, Brady's old and he sucks. TFB for you, me and the rest of the gang, right?

    But this thread isn't about that is it? IS IT?????????????????????????????

     

     
  6. You have chosen to ignore posts from mattc355. Show mattc355's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    _

     
  7. You have chosen to ignore posts from MeadowlandMike. Show MeadowlandMike's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    I missed the play, what was the score when it happened?

     
  8. You have chosen to ignore posts from CHAMPSXLVIII. Show CHAMPSXLVIII's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to Harvey-Wallbanger's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to Not-A-Shot's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    I'm reading the rule. 

    "Rule 913: Team B players cannot push teammates on the line of scrimmage into offensive formation."

    Can someone tell me where the "second tier" stuff comes in?

     

    [/QUOTE]

    Team B means second tier, moron.  Jones is a Team A player in that rule. He's lining up on the line of scrimmage.

    Go back to the Bruins board and whack off to Jacobs some more.

    [/QUOTE]


    i think team a and team b are the opposing teams not different levels of the same team

     
  9. You have chosen to ignore posts from CHAMPSXLVIII. Show CHAMPSXLVIII's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to MeadowlandMike's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    I missed the play, what was the score when it happened?

    [/QUOTE]


    tied in overtime

     
  10. You have chosen to ignore posts from BabeParilli. Show BabeParilli's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to TFB12's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to Not-A-Shot's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to BabeParilli's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    The point is that the thread is about the call, not how we played. I'm sure we all could point fingers all day about that, but this is supposed to be focused and not cluttered up with every tom dick and harry's two bit analysis.

    [/QUOTE]

    Okay.  You say it was a bad call.  The former VP of NFL Officiating says it was a good call.

    Anything else?

    [/QUOTE]


    I think he is covering his guy.  That was a bad call.  Former players even are saying it was a bad call. 

    [/QUOTE]


    It was a complete BS call. Only a fool or somebody with an ax to grind would call that legit. LMAO

    There have to be 25 offensive holding calls more blatant than that in every NFL game. Ludicrous! It was an INTENTIONAL alteration of the game result.

     

     
  11. You have chosen to ignore posts from BabeParilli. Show BabeParilli's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to mattc355's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    I guess it was a penalty. 

    [/QUOTE]

    No mare a penalty than 75 other things they didn't call in the game.

     
  12. You have chosen to ignore posts from MeadowlandMike. Show MeadowlandMike's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...


    I hate some rules too.  I really hate that offsides call.  I think the reffs call that too much.

     
  13. You have chosen to ignore posts from rick-hertz. Show rick-hertz's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    So if it's a new rule why did it take till week 7 for anyone to call it?

     
  14. You have chosen to ignore posts from isurfvb24. Show isurfvb24's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    http://www.nfl.com/rulebook/kicksfromscrimmage

     
  15. You have chosen to ignore posts from Not-A-Shot. Show Not-A-Shot's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to Harvey-Wallbanger's comment:
    [QUOTE]


    Team B means second tier, moron.  Jones is a Team A player in that rule. He's lining up on the line of scrimmage.

    Go back to the Bruins board and whack off to Jacobs some more.

    [/QUOTE]

    Wrong.

    Team A is the team with the ball.

    Team B is the team on defense.

    Example from the NFL rulebook:

    "PLAYER ON LINE

    ARTICLE 2:  A Player of Team A is on his line

    (a) when his shoulders face Team B's goal line..."

    You are so dim you don't even know how to read the rules of the game you follow.

     
  16. You have chosen to ignore posts from TheExaminer. Show TheExaminer's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    You can gripe all you want about the call, and rightly so. It was a call that should not have been made, and it swung the game to NY. However, it was the millionth straw in a long series of "should not have happened" things, most of which were the Patriots' fault. With all the injuries and etc., its going to be an uphill climb to really go deep into the playoffs. When you add young receivers and Brady's creeping inconsistency, they have their work cut out this year. But we knew that going into this season. 5-2 not bad considering, and with what the Red Sox have been doing, its hard to be greedy about the Patriots.

     
  17. You have chosen to ignore posts from AFNAV130. Show AFNAV130's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to BabeParilli's comment:

    In response to Not-A-Shot's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to BabeParilli's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    Uh, you're wrong. Only second tier players are restricted from that. Our guy was side by side with the guy he supposedly pushed.

    Really dood, don't take this foolish stance on this. You will be humiliated.



    Mike Pereira @MikePereira 41m

    That is correct call in NE/NYJ game. New rule this year can't push a teammate into the offensive formation on a field goal or try attempt.

    Mike Pereira Verified account

     

    @MikePereira

    Former Vice President of Officiating in the National Football League.

    ---

    Anything else from you on this?

    [/QUOTE]

    Yeah, a few things.

    It wasn't a push. The flag was thrown before the alleged push. You don't make cheesey calls in OT with the game on the line anyway, unless something is rotten in Denmark.

    [/QUOTE]

    It is the NFL covering for their corruption. It may be a rule but the enforcement is suspect. Perreria is the "Former" VP. The telling fact was Rex not going ballistic when the flag was thrown. he would have been ecstatic if he had seen or heard it was a real penalty.  No Jets players were excited either. They didn't see a penalty. The officials had to huddle up to make something up. Because there WAS no penalty.  Just heard on WEEI that the league "just" sent out a memo to officials this week showing instances where it wasn't called and should have this season. BS. The league saw an opportunity at the end of the game, and threw the flag as a safety valve in case he misseed a 64 yard field goal, which he had no chance of making.  

     
  18. You have chosen to ignore posts from MeadowlandMike. Show MeadowlandMike's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to Not-A-Shot's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to Harvey-Wallbanger's comment:
    [QUOTE]


    Team B means second tier, moron.  Jones is a Team A player in that rule. He's lining up on the line of scrimmage.

    Go back to the Bruins board and whack off to Jacobs some more.

    [/QUOTE]

    Wrong.

    Team A is the team with the ball.

    Team B is the team on defense.

    Example from the NFL rulebook:

    "PLAYER ON LINE

    ARTICLE 2:  A Player of Team A is on his line

    (a) when his shoulders face Team B's goal line..."

    You are so dim you don't even know how to read the rules of the game you follow.

    [/QUOTE]


    No, I think that other guy is right.   Why wouldn't they just say offence/defence?

     
  19. You have chosen to ignore posts from CatfishHunter. Show CatfishHunter's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to TFB12's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to Not-A-Shot's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to BabeParilli's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    The point is that the thread is about the call, not how we played. I'm sure we all could point fingers all day about that, but this is supposed to be focused and not cluttered up with every tom dick and harry's two bit analysis.

    [/QUOTE]

    Okay.  You say it was a bad call.  The former VP of NFL Officiating says it was a good call.

    Anything else?

    [/QUOTE]


    I think he is covering his guy.  That was a bad call.  Former players even are saying it was a bad call. 

    [/QUOTE]


    Yeah.  Pereira is the same guy who covered for the replacement refs in the Seattle bag job "win" over the Packers.  It's like crossing a union line with him.   He won't do it.

     
  20. You have chosen to ignore posts from zbellino. Show zbellino's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to Harvey-Wallbanger's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to Not-A-Shot's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    I'm reading the rule. 

    "Rule 913: Team B players cannot push teammates on the line of scrimmage into offensive formation."

    Can someone tell me where the "second tier" stuff comes in?

     

    [/QUOTE]

    Team B means second tier, moron.  Jones is a Team A player in that rule. He's lining up on the line of scrimmage.

    Go back to the Bruins board and whack off to Jacobs some more.

    [/QUOTE]


    From my understanding team A is the kicking team, and team B is the kick return unit. Who knows where second tier stuff comes in ... maybe a memo? At any rate, the implication is that players on the line of scrimmage cannot be pushed, so a creative person could argue that it means a player not on the line of scrimmage has to be the one 'pushing.'

    It doesn't matter. The call was questionable/lame/GUTLESS ... he was not pushing him ... and it was a zero impact play (the kick wasn't bloacked, ; no Jets were injured or threatened; etc).

    It's a 15 YARD penalty that basically handed the Jets the win.

    Section 1 Kick From Scrimmage 

    KICK ON OR BEHIND LINE OF SCRIMMAGE 

     Article 1 Team A may attempt a punt, drop kick, or placekick from on or behind the line of scrimmage. 

    Penalty: For a punt, drop kick, or placekick that is kicked from beyond the line of scrimmage or not from scrimmage: 

    Loss of 10 yards from the spot of the kick. 

    Note 1: This is not considered illegally kicking the ball. 

    Note 2: The penalty for a punt, drop kick, or placekick from beyond the line is to be enforced from the spot where the ball is punted or kicked when the player’s entire body and the ball are beyond the line of scrimmage. This includes either when the player is airborne or touching the ground. 

    Note 3: A second kick from behind the line of scrimmage is legal provided the ball has not crossed the line. 

    KICKING TEAM PLAYERS ON LINE DURING KICK 

    Article 2 During a kick from scrimmage, only the end men (eligible receivers) on the line of scrimmage at the time of the snap, or an eligible receiver who is aligned or in motion behind the line and is more than one yard outside the end man, are permitted to advance more than one yard beyond the line before the ball is kicked.

     Penalty: For advancing more than one yard beyond the line of scrimmage before the ball is kicked: Loss of five yards. 

    DEFENSIVE TEAM FORMATION 

    Article 3: Defensive Team Formation 

    (a) When Team A presents a punt, field-goal, or Try Kick formation, a Team B player, who is within one yard of the line of scrimmage, must have his entire body outside the snapper’s shoulder pads at the snap

    (b) When Team A presents a field-goal or Try Kick formation: 

    (1) No more than six Team B players may be on the line of scrimmage on either side of the snapper at the 

    snap; and 

    Note: These restrictions do not apply if a team does not present a standard punt, field goal, or Try Kick formation (an equal 

    number of players on the line of scrimmage on either side of the snapper in a tight formation), or if, after the offensive 

    team has assumed a set position, there is a shift, or a player goes in motion. 

    Penalty: For illegal formation by the defense: Loss of five yards. 

    (2) Team B players cannot push teammates on the line of scrimmage into the offensive formation. 

    Penalty: For unnecessary roughness: Loss of 15 yards.

     
  21. You have chosen to ignore posts from zbellino. Show zbellino's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to BabeParilli's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to Not-A-Shot's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to BabeParilli's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    Uh, you're wrong. Only second tier players are restricted from that. Our guy was side by side with the guy he supposedly pushed.

    Really dood, don't take this foolish stance on this. You will be humiliated.

    [/QUOTE]

    Mike Pereira @MikePereira 41m

    That is correct call in NE/NYJ game. New rule this year can't push a teammate into the offensive formation on a field goal or try attempt.

    Mike Pereira Verified account

     

    @MikePereira

    Former Vice President of Officiating in the National Football League.

    ---

    Anything else from you on this?

    [/QUOTE]

    Yeah, a few things.

    It wasn't a push. The flag was thrown before the alleged push. You don't make cheesey calls in OT with the game on the line anyway, unless something is rotten in Denmark.

    [/QUOTE]

    It was cheesy. Gutless. That's the major issue. 

    It swings the game completely from one end of the win probabilty spectrum (NE with ~70% [10 yards to a 45 yard FG] to Jets 90% [in line for a chip shot FG].

    Gutless.

     
  22. You have chosen to ignore posts from Not-A-Shot. Show Not-A-Shot's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to Harvey-Wallbanger's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to Not-A-Shot's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to Harvey-Wallbanger's comment:
    [QUOTE]


    Team B means second tier, moron.  Jones is a Team A player in that rule. He's lining up on the line of scrimmage.

    Go back to the Bruins board and whack off to Jacobs some more.

    [/QUOTE]

    Wrong.

    Team A is the team with the ball.

    Team B is the team on defense.

    Example from the NFL rulebook:

    "PLAYER ON LINE

    ARTICLE 2:  A Player of Team A is on his line

    (a) when his shoulders face Team B's goal line..."

    You are so dim you don't even know how to read the rules of the game you follow.

    [/QUOTE]

    That's not what it means. It means second level.  Second tier.  The rule is about the second level player pusing a DL into the line of scrimmage. It used be legal, now it is not. A stunt is not pushing a fellow D Lineman anyway.

    [/QUOTE]


    Why would they refer to "Team A" as the team with the ball in one rule and then call "Team A" a down lineman in a different rule?

    That makes no sense at all.

    Give up.

    This second tier stuff is created and parroted by people who don't understand the rule.

     
  23. You have chosen to ignore posts from freediro. Show freediro's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to zbellino's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to BabeParilli's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to Not-A-Shot's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    In response to BabeParilli's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    Uh, you're wrong. Only second tier players are restricted from that. Our guy was side by side with the guy he supposedly pushed.

    Really dood, don't take this foolish stance on this. You will be humiliated.

    [/QUOTE]

    Mike Pereira @MikePereira 41m

    That is correct call in NE/NYJ game. New rule this year can't push a teammate into the offensive formation on a field goal or try attempt.

    Mike Pereira Verified account

     

    @MikePereira

    Former Vice President of Officiating in the National Football League.

    ---

    Anything else from you on this?

    [/QUOTE]

    Yeah, a few things.

    It wasn't a push. The flag was thrown before the alleged push. You don't make cheesey calls in OT with the game on the line anyway, unless something is rotten in Denmark.

    [/QUOTE]

    It was cheesy. Gutless. That's the major issue. 

    It swings the game completely from one end of the win probabilty spectrum (NE with ~70% [10 yards to a 45 yard FG] to Jets 90% [in line for a chip shot FG].

    Gutless.

    [/QUOTE]

    It's just an unnecessary penalty and it does nothing for the game and it comes at the dumbest time for no real good reason. I totally agree with you. It makes the NFL look bad, even if the Broncos lost like that I would feel bad and think the NFL looks bad.

     
  24. You have chosen to ignore posts from BsLegion. Show BsLegion's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to dreighver's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    @DaleEArnold: Rule 913 ONLY applies if Chris Jones was NOT on the line of scrimmage. Clearly he was. Blown call.

    So there's that... the rule that was enforced didn't apply to Jones. Therefore, the call was wrong. No room for debate. 

    [/QUOTE]

    Good find.

     

     
  25. You have chosen to ignore posts from isurfvb24. Show isurfvb24's posts

    Re: Gutless call from a gutless ref ...

    In response to BsLegion's comment:

    In response to dreighver's comment:
    [QUOTE]

    @DaleEArnold: Rule 913 ONLY applies if Chris Jones was NOT on the line of scrimmage. Clearly he was. Blown call.

    So there's that... the rule that was enforced didn't apply to Jones. Therefore, the call was wrong. No room for debate. 

    Good find.

     

    [/QUOTE]

    Like I was saying, anybody not a down lineman is a second tier player. Bag job by the refs

     
Sections
Shortcuts

Share