Re: May I Ask A Question?
posted at 11/3/2011 11:04 AM EDT
In Response to Re: May I Ask A Question?
[QUOTE]In Response to Re: May I Ask A Question? : An article from the associated press and a tweet is your proof? The same article that was on ESPN.com? Let's see the rule smart guy. Or would you rather just be blissfully ignorant and claim how unfair life is for the Patriots?
Posted by JetMangione[/QUOTE]
So in your world the NFL would link to an article on their own website that openly contradicts the ruling of their employees (the refs) and the former VP of officiating also chose to disagree just for kicks. Pass the crack pipe dude.
But since you are so eager to be exposed as an idiot the NFL rulebook Rule 8, Section 7, Article 7, A.R. 8.71 states:
"Second-and-10 on B30. A backward pass or fumble hits the ground on the B35 and a defensive player bats the ball to the B40 where he recovers.
Ruling: Illegal bat of a loose ball. Enforcement is from the previous spot as it is behind the line. A’s ball firstand-10 on B20."
In this case the fumble did hit the ground and and was batted backwards by a defensive player making it an illegal bat.
"When a fumble goes out of bounds in the end zone, the following
(b) If a ball is fumbled in a team’s own end zone or in the field of play and goes out of bounds in the end zone it is a safety if that team provided the impetus that sent the ball into the end zone. If the impetus was provided by the opponent, it is a touchback."
In this case the opponent Pittsburgh (specifically Polamalu) provided the impetus that sent the fumble from the field of play out of bounds in the endzone meaning it should have been a touchback for the Patriots.
As I said earlier. Go home troll and come back when you actually know something (i.e. never).