Re: Off subject. Magic Masters moment
posted at 4/15/2013 8:32 AM EDT
In response to AcheNot's comment:
In response to user_1807930's comment:
Response to your Response: After his round yesterday he said in his interview that he dropped the ball a couple of feet from his divot because he was going to hit the same shot and was concerned that he might get the same result. The rule is very specific about dropping the ball as close to the original divot as possible. A couple feet does not cut it.
I would have to suspend disbelief that Tiger or Caddy does not know the rule concerning taking a drop. His intent was to break the rule which is a Disqualification.
He then signed his score card with the wrong score. Three professional golfers have been DQ'd this year for signing a wrong score card. None of them were named TIGER. The major infraction was his admitted intent when he dropped the ball.
Now unfortunately the spokesman for the Masters rules committee sounded like a $1,000.00 an hour lawyer representing Ken Lay. Golf is the only sport that is supposed to be self regulating. But every body sees this for what it is: SHOW ME THE MONEY.
Any way I can't add anything else and I hope you take this in the spirit in which it is intended.
If he knew about the rule, why would he freely admit, during that interview following his round on Friday, to having violated the rule, ie, dropping the ball two yards away from its original lie?
Was he deliberately trying to sabotage himself?
Was he begging Masters officials to assess him a two shot penalty?
Or potential DQ?
Obviously he didnt know the rule well enough otherwise he wouldnt have admitted to breaking it, right?
RULE 33---A decision rules accompanies this rule says that the committee would not be justified to waive the DQ if it was a result of the players ignorance of the rules or if he could have reasonably discovered his mistake before signing his scorecard.
Everybody carries a rule book, he could have opened it. He could have asked a Marshall for a ruling. He could have required his stupid caddy to know the rules of the game inside and out. The caddy is supposed to be his on course manager. As the #1 ranked golfer in the world he should have been better prepared.
Knowingly or unknowingly he cheated in one of the Majors, not the Tin Cup Screen Door Open of El Diablo Wyoming. Thats why I hoped that he would withdraw. In my mind I gave him a chance to become the greatest golfer in place of Jack Niclklaus, not now. Good thing my opinion does not matter.