Qualities of an elite RB

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from kickwax. Show kickwax's posts

Qualities of an elite RB

What does it take to be considered elite?  I was wondering this relative to the Law firm?

Bennie:

almost never has negative plays...which I consider huge;
    almost never (or maybe never) puts the ball on ground;
    can move a pile for a first down or TD.

Does one need to carry 20 - 25 times and be a featured back to be elite?  As a coach, I take the above over a runner who has highlight runs twice a game, but a bunch of o yard runs as well.  Clearly the path BB took when he discarded Maroney.

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from p-mike. Show p-mike's posts

Re: Qualities of an elite RB

You get consistency with BJGE. He hits the designated hole and moves north-and-south, and he doesn't put the ball on the ground. Those may seem like fairly obvious attributes to look for in a running back, but watching Maroney stopping dead in the backfield -- not being stopped dead, mind you . . .  just dancing up to the line of scrimmage and stopping -- on almost every play for three years probably taints our opinion of what a running back should be.

Maroney could give you more on those rare occasions when he got into the secondary -- Law Firm is never going to run away from anybody -- and I think if you're going to be considered "elite," you've got to have that breakaway ability. But in the context of what the Pats want to do, it looks to me like Green-Ellis has developed well within his role.

Don't think of Law Firm as an elite back . . .   think of him as an important cog in an elite offense.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from prolate0spheroid. Show prolate0spheroid's posts

In Response to Re: Qualities of an elite RB:
    [QUOTE]Don't think of Law Firm as an elite back . . .   think of him as an important cog in an elite offense.
    Posted by p-mike[/QUOTE]

Nice way of putting it.