Union vs Non-Union posters

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from jcour382. Show jcour382's posts

Re: Union vs Non-Union posters

read most of the posts...

Im against the players on this issue because they are employees trying to dictate policy...... all the other banter or logical arguement on either side I dont care about....   if they like the deal they got...well thats over now... so get back and negotiate until you get something you can live with...

as for me i graduated highschool went into the military...got out at the end of my enlistment and immediately got a union job stocking supermarket shelves overnight... it was an ok living but piece driven and very physically demanding... after 10 years my back was done and I realized i wouldnt be able to continue(even though i actually liked it) and I wanted to do better in life so I went to school during the day as a computer science major...while also raising two kids ... son just graduated from college...(man i can still remember when i made that decision... I was actually scared because of the uncertainty and having a family...) but I also worked for the teamsters in boston doing trade shows in between and for UPS... my brother is a steelers fan and a hard line union man... in either case the union never helped me when physical problems developed...or any problems and really only cared about my dues... i was really on my own but i bear no ill will to them...sorry but its true... and I can tell you some more bad stories about what was done in town on those jobs at 32bucks an hour straight time... anyway no need badmouthing them..

now I work in healthcare as an analyst/programmer for medical software support for the last 12 years.. it pays well and you can shop your skills around to raise your income and standard of living and that is any where in the US... in the private sector if you have skills you will do fine...there is plenty of opportunity to branch out on your own as well... AND BECOME AN OWNER...