could we accept a Jason Collins walking thru those Fenway doors today with RED SOX on his jersey?

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from hill55. Show hill55's posts

Re: could we accept a Jason Collins walking thru those Fenway doors today with RED SOX on his jersey?

My daughter reports that openly gay athletes have been a non-issue at her underfunded, urban public high school on the West Coast (including two males who are now freshmen at Ivy League schools).

Times have changed for the better since I graduated from high school 40 years ago.

2. This post has been removed.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from SpacemanEephus. Show SpacemanEephus's posts

Re: could we accept a Jason Collins walking thru those Fenway doors today with RED SOX on his jersey?

In response to mryazz's comment:

In response to pumpsie-green's comment:

In response to SpacemanEephus' comment:

In response to ms_obstinate's comment:

In response to pumpsie-green's comment:

In response to ms_obstinate's comment:

This is my liberal side coming out.... I don't care.  I don't get why this has to be a breaking story on all the news stations. 

Maybe one day when equality for everyone has been reached things like this will not be an issue. That day has not yet arrived, so, unfortunately, it IS still an issue. Because of Collins there will be kids looking up thinking that the way they are is not so bad after all-if a professional basketball player can come out then that kid might think the door is open to him or her too.

I get that it is an important story,  but breaking news?  It is a good sign that more and more people are seeing it as a non-issue.

I agree to some extent.  I think it is a great sign that more and more people are seeing it as a non-issue.  And, perhaps ironically, Jason Collins being such a big issue will help make it more of a non-issue.  

However, we have a long way to go before it is really a non-issue.