did anyone else notice...

  1. You have chosen to ignore posts from aquachuck. Show aquachuck's posts

    Re: did anyone else notice...

    I'll take Bogar anyday over Dale Sveum.


     
  2. You have chosen to ignore posts from ZILLAGOD. Show ZILLAGOD's posts

    Re: did anyone else notice...

    If the coach did not instruct him , either before or during  the play, to go...then what the hell is he doing out there?

    If Bogar fails to do his job (which by the way is to TALK to the runner and explain what he should be doing in various situations ) he is nothing but a lump of fleshy tissue covering bone and basically does not need a brain. You can't count on Ortiz or any other runner to "think" , these guys are not paid to "think" they are paid to hit the freakin' ball and run until someone says stop...that's what the coach is supposed to do. This is his job.

    They could save some payroll and leave the coaches box vacant or get a mannequin from Macy's, if they don't expect the coach to actually "coach." ....Don't ya think that's true?
     
  3. You have chosen to ignore posts from royf19. Show royf19's posts

    Re: did anyone else notice...

    In Response to Re: did anyone else notice...:
    [QUOTE]I had a good laugh when the announcer said "Oriz is a triple shy of the cycle". While not impossible, surely unlikely that he gets all the way around.    Yes of course he has done it in the past, but only a handful.
    Posted by chuchos[/QUOTE]

    It should be noted that he already has a triple this year and has at least one every year since 2000 -- usually just one, but one just the same.
     
  4. You have chosen to ignore posts from jimdavis. Show jimdavis's posts

    Re: did anyone else notice...

    Guys, it was Papi's mistake.  The ball was not hit hard.  You are taught to stay out of the double play at all costs so you go on that play.  The mistake was that the ball was not hit hard enough for a DP.  Papi broke to stay out of the DP not realizing that there would not be a chance at it.  This is not worth the thread, it was simply a mistake.  Now let's move on.
     
  5. You have chosen to ignore posts from SpacemanEephus. Show SpacemanEephus's posts

    Re: did anyone else notice...

    In Response to Re: did anyone else notice...:
    [QUOTE]Guys, it was Papi's mistake.  The ball was not hit hard.  You are taught to stay out of the double play at all costs so you go on that play.  The mistake was that the ball was not hit hard enough for a DP.  Papi broke to stay out of the DP not realizing that there would not be a chance at it.  This is not worth the thread, it was simply a mistake.  Now let's move on.
    Posted by jimdavis[/QUOTE]

    i agree.  it was not an egregious baserunning mistake that proves some sort of lack of fundamentals.  it was just a mistake of judgement in a split second decision.  Welcome to baseball.  Lets move on.
     
  6. You have chosen to ignore posts from majorleague. Show majorleague's posts

    Re: did anyone else notice...

    It was a fundamental mistake, not any "split second" mistake. The coach should have gone over that very situation with him, as zilla says.
     

Share