Good News That Is Being Ignored

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from pumpsie-green. Show pumpsie-green's posts

Re: Good News That Is Being Ignored

In response to Hfxsoxnut's comment:

In response to moonslav59's comment:

I'm not a math expert, but let's give the odds Buch pitches great at 75%, Lester at 60%, and Lackey at 50%.

What's the odds all 3 pitch great?  Certainly less than 50%.

That one is easy.  Just multiply the % by each other.  .75 * .60 * .50 = 22.5%.

And that is about the chance this team has of contending for a playoff position IMO: 22.5%. I do not think you can measure success this year in terms of wins and losses. You measure it by the moves our GM makes by the trade deadline to position the Red Sox to compete again in two years. So far Cherington has been mostly disappointing with the exception being unloading three bloated contracts in exchange for two top pitching prospects. The rest of what he has done is window dressing.

2. This post has been removed.

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from royf19. Show royf19's posts

In response to EnchiladaT's comment:

Why can't we be critical of poor Spring Stats if you can praise good ones?

It's not that you can't be critical of poor spring stats as much as it is the leap you make from those stats.

I'm not saying that because of the strong start that the pitching is going to be great this year. Before spring, I said I expected the starting pitching to be better, especially Lester and Buchholz, and even if they were struggling, I'd feel the same because it is just spring.

So the same goes with poor spring stats. Just because Hanrahan or someone else has poor stats, it doesn't mean they're going to sck when the season starts. There's only so much you can read into stats good or bad.