I am old school and want to thank the Capt!

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from xcaliber. Show xcaliber's posts

I am old school and want to thank the Capt!

So many readers want to throw away the Capt and Wake. I realize their level of play is declined but if they leave we should send them off with a HUGE thanks not as some say "get the hell out". What is wrong with our fans who have that attitude? These guys gave us some great memories and years, so I say THANK YOU to both and perhaps we will see 1 or both in our coaching system soon.

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from GoUconn13. Show GoUconn13's posts

Re: I am old school and want to thank the Capt!

Well, they are saying it because kept seeing too many repeating threads about resigning these two people. 

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from Thesemenarecowards. Show Thesemenarecowards's posts

I've been saying retire #33 for a couple years now.  Hang it up in RF, that is how much respect Tek deserves for 2003-2008. 

That said, I'm also among those ready to say "get the h e l l out". 

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from summerof67. Show summerof67's posts

Here here!

Thanks, Captain, for two WS titles and for giving 150% all the time.

I wish there were some way to bring you back for a victory lap, but it doesn't appear to be happening.

Hope to see you back in a Red Sox uniform - in the dugout or in Spring Training - helping Gary Tuck teach the newbies how to handle pitchers - except for Josh Beckett, whom no one can handle.

But I digress.

5. You have chosen to ignore posts from hankwilliams. Show hankwilliams's posts

I am old school, and when a veteran player can no longer do his job well, he walks away gracefully without having to be told to do so. Varitek stooped so low that he had his girlfriend lobbying for another 2 or 3 year contract.