Re: obstruction rule
posted at 10/27/2013 1:59 PM EDT
In response to andrewmitch's comment:
In response to ctredsoxfanhugh's comment:
In response to JimfromFlorida's comment:
I thought the runner had to be in base path and that was not in basepath.
I was thinking the same thing. He was a couple feet off the bag trying to run past middlebrook, plus the fielders natural instinct should be tomjump up and go after the ball so what was he supposed to do, just lay there?
Regardlessmi think throwing to third was just dumb. That's the winning run and it's a risky play, plus you have two outs with Koji on the mound....just stupid.
So just to be clear, we don't try and make any possible out we can, correct?
Not always, depends on the risk reward, the score and the inning in which the play is made..In this instance the risk imho outweighed the reward.
Bottom of the ninth with Craig representing the winning run a good throw and he's out by 10 feet...a wild throw that goes into the outfield and the games over.
The risk which transpired and led to the obstruction call was in overthrowing the base and allowing the winning run to score with two outs with your closer on the hill and the bottom of the lineup due up...you have to like your odds of getting the next hitter. in baseball coach speak it was an un-nessesary throw.
The reward if Salty makes a good throw is the runners out, the innings over, and you take the bat out of the next hitters hand with the winning run on 3rd. Since there's no guarantee that Koji gets Korma. One could argue that making throw and ending the inning was the play...the net result is that we lost the game...and didn't give Koji a chance to get us back into to the dugout tied...