PHILLIES HAVE OUR PERMANENT 1B!!

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from REBEL. Show REBEL's posts

PHILLIES HAVE OUR PERMANENT 1B!!

I have been saying for several years that Chase Utley is the second coming of Don Mattingly.  Both started their careers as 2nd basemen, have very good gloves, and bats!  I think acquiring Utley would give us a very solid 1B for quite a while!  If the trade price is too much, then wait and sign him as a free agent at the end of the season.  A second, but less desireable, alternative would be Mayberry, Jr. who always was a 1B, but was moved to the OF to get him into the lineup with Howard at 1B.  The kid has a good glove and bat!  Our current bandaid at 1B does not have the glove, and is having a so-so year on offense.

SO, I SAY, GO GET UTLEY!!

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from stan17. Show stan17's posts

Re: PHILLIES HAVE OUR PERMANENT 1B!!

Our future 1st baseman going forward is going to be Middlebrooks. 

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from royf19. Show royf19's posts

In response to REBEL's comment:

I have been saying for several years that Chase Utley is the second coming of Don Mattingly.  Both started their careers as 2nd basemen, have very good gloves, and bats!  I think acquiring Utley would give us a very solid 1B for quite a while!  If the trade price is too much, then wait and sign him as a free agent at the end of the season.  A second, but less desireable, alternative would be Mayberry, Jr. who always was a 1B, but was moved to the OF to get him into the lineup with Howard at 1B.  The kid has a good glove and bat!  Our current bandaid at 1B does not have the glove, and is having a so-so year on offense.

Mattingly didn't start out as a 2B. He threw left. He played .1 innings at 2B, likely in as an emergency. Are you sure you're not thinking of Rod Carew, who started as a 2B with Minnesota and played 1B with the Angels.

4. You have chosen to ignore posts from TexasPat. Show TexasPat's posts