Re: Taking third strikes
posted at 10/9/2013 6:12 AM EDT
In response to Sheriff-Rojas' comment:
In response to FromSF's comment:
In response to dgalehouse's comment:
Anyone who has played baseball, has taken a called third strike at times. Sometimes the pitcher makes a great pitch. It happens, especially in MLB. If it happens too often, you will not be around for long. But you cannot say that you can never take a called strike three. It may not look good, but it is part of the game.
Stabbed by Foulke.
If you ask any coach in life what does protect the plate mean, they will tell you it means you have two strikes on you and you have to protect yourself from a blown 3rd strike call by an umpire. What possible reason
would any batter have, with 2 strikes, to not swing if the pitch is close?
Xander Bogaerts walked twice in Game 4 with two strikes on him. In his first AB, the count was 1-2, so he took three pitches with two strikes. He scored both times, which accounted for the two run differential, and thus, the victory and the series.
Game. Set. Match. Speaking of Xander, he needs a nickname, how's about "Aruba Duba"?