Re: Tip o' the Cap to Yu Darvish!
posted at 5/10/2014 7:12 AM EDT
And to preempt the goofy error judgement, it was technically a very correct call:
""This is a judgment call,'' explained official scorer Steve Weller. "In my judgment, when the ball goes up in the air, I felt like the second baseman or the right fielder, under normal effort, could've clearly caught the ball. I don't think there's a lot of argument about that. Under the rule, 10.12a1, it clearly states that a fly ball that lands, that's allowed to hit the ground, that in the judgment of the official scorer under normal effort could be caught -- you're to award an error on that play. "
USUALLY this is ruled a hit. That doesn't change the rules though, just because scorers usually ignore this rule doesn't mean it SHOULD be ignored.
Pedroia and Ortiz weigh in:
Dustin Pedroia chose a more diplomatic approach (Farrel commented that it's rare to see a ball not touching a player ruled an error).
"I don't get paid to think about stuff like that,'' he said. "The (official scorer's) got a difficult job. I don't have an opinion either way. I've got to worry about hitting Yu Darvish.'' (that last line was absolutely perfect)
Ortiz, not surprisingly, was animated about the call.
"OK, I know I hit a ball that was supposed to be caught,'' said Ortiz. "A guy throwing a no-hitter...we all understand that. But when it comes down to the rules in the game, that's a hit. That's the rule we all know and that's the rule the game has had for more than 100 years. A ball in the outfield drops and nobody touches it? That's a hit.'' (-_-)