Was Ted Williams the greatest hitter who ever lived?

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from nhsteven. Show nhsteven's posts

Re: Was Ted Williams the greatest hitter who ever lived?

In Response to Re: Was Ted Williams the greatest hitter who ever lived?:
    [QUOTE]In Response to Re: Was Ted Williams the greatest hitter who ever lived? : So then what is your point?  You seem to know so much?  What conclusions can we drawn from your expertise?
    Posted by william93063[/QUOTE]

For starters, check my previous favorable posts regarding TW.

However, my point is some of your supporting statements are misleading and/or downright false as well. And I am no expert; I just seem that way compared to your homerism induced inaccuracies.

2. You have chosen to ignore posts from kbev97. Show kbev97's posts

There are another twenty hitters in major league history who were also great and should be discussed. Why narrow the field to Williams and Ruth. Don't we have any Tiger, Cardinals, or Giants fans out there who want to come in and debate their hearts out?

3. You have chosen to ignore posts from nhsteven. Show nhsteven's posts

[QUOTE]jay.....absolutely! Harness....you're funny, man!  I think I'd pay to see Softy and Road on the same plane.  I'll put my money on Softy... Back to Williams, and I guess I'm showing my age here, but back when Williams played there were how many teams? eight?  This meant that EVERY team had a couple of stoppers.  So, the pitching competition was greater. The argument here is that I don't think the slider was used back then.  I don't know.  Out of curiosity, do you know how far from home plate William's red seat is?  Everytime I see that picture, it blows my mind away.  Another thing..nowadays, it seems that a long home run is about 430ft, or whatever.  Hell, I remember Mantle, Killebrew and others hitting 500ft bombs.  Why the difference?
    Posted by ampoule[/QUOTE]