What should Theo do? Deadline looms for Andrew Miller

1. You have chosen to ignore posts from -EdithBunker-. Show -EdithBunker-'s posts

What should Theo do? Deadline looms for Andrew Miller

by Gordon Edes/ESPN
    ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. -- While the Red Sox look to extend their season-high winning streak to 10 games Tuesday night, a drama of another sort will be playing out in Pawtucket, where gifted left-handed pitcher Andrew Miller -- and the Red Sox -- are faced with a decision that could have a lasting impact on both the player and the franchise.

Miller is scheduled to pitch Tuesday night for the PawSox against the Charlotte Knights, Triple-A affiliate of the Chicago White Sox. Wednesday is the day, contractually agreed upon, that Miller can choose to opt out of his contract with the Sox if they haven’t summoned him to the majors by then.

The decision is not an easy one for either side.

The Sox acquired Miller by trade last November from the Florida Marlins for left-handed reliever Dustin Richardson, then non-tendered him, choosing instead to sign him to a free-agent minor-league deal because he was out of options and wanted more roster flexibility.

Miller had offers from other teams, big-league offers, but chose to sign with the Red Sox because he decided they gave him the best chance to unlock the talent that has not yet delivered on the enormous promise that led the Detroit Tigers to draft him No. 1 in 2006, the year that he and good friend Daniel Bard pitched the University of North Carolina to the College World Series. Bard was drafted in the first round that year by the Sox.